Google Scholar provides a simple way to broadly search for scholarly literature.
Google Scholar provides a simple way to broadly search for scholarly literature. From one place, you can search across many disciplines and sources: peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, abstracts and articles, from academic publishers, professional societies, preprint repositories, universities and other scholarly organizations.
To configure your Google Scholar account follow these steps:
1. Go to scholar.google.com
2. Find the menu located in the top left corner and click on "Settings"
3. Select "Library links"
4. Type "University of North Carolina Charlotte"
5. Select both options
6. Type "Worldcat"
7. Select the option
8. Select "Save"
Bibliographic records of literature, language, linguistics, and folklore. (Indexing: 1926+) Produced by the Modern Language Association of America the database consists of bibliographic records pertaining to literature, language, linguistics, and folklore. The MLA International Bibliography provides access to scholarly research in nearly 4,000 journals and series. It also covers relevant books, working papers, proceedings, bibliographies, and other formats.
This leading Black newspaper of the 20th century reached its peak in the 1940s. It was a strong advocate for the desegregation of the U.S. military during World War II, and also covered the historically important Harlem Renaissance.
The oldest continuously published black newspaper dedicated to the needs and concerns of the fourth largest black community in the U.S. During the 1930s the paper supported the growth of the United Way, rallied against the riots in Chester, PA, and continuously fought against segregation.
Provides access to U.S. newspapers chronicling a century and a half of the African-American experience. This collection includes historically significant papers and features many rare 19th-century titles.
Full text periodicals published between 1740 and 1940.
Over 1100 full text periodicals published between 1740 and 1940. Although the title of the database indicates it ends in 1900, it has many articles up to 1940. Three broad time periods are included: 1) 89 journals published between 1740 and 1800 from colonial status to independence, 2) more than 900 titles from the first 60 years of the nineteenth century, and 3) 118 periodicals published during the Civil War (1861-1865) and Reconstruction (1865-1877) eras. The database contains digitized images presenting the original typography, drawings, graphic elements, and article layouts exactly as they were originally published.