Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Self-Care Collection

This guide provides information about items in the Self-Care Collection, as well as other campus resources that can help with mental health and wellness needs of students, staff, and faculty.

The Self-Care Collection at Atkins Library

Self-Care Collection logo with heart in centerVisit Atkins Library's Self-Care Collection to check out special devices and books to support your mental health and self-care. Funded through a grant provided by UNC Charlotte's Counseling and Psychological Services, this collection aims to promote wellness, mindfulness, meditation, and healing.

Create soothing physical and mental environments with the following self-care devices:

  • White Noise Machines
  • Guided Meditation Tools
  • Color and Star Projectors
  • Sunlight Therapy Lamps
  • Buddha Boards

What is Self-Care?

Quote from Audre Lorde: "Caring for myself is not self-indulgence, it is self-preservation, and that is an act of political warfare."

Self-care is more than just a trending hashtag -- in fact, it has radical roots dating back to the Black Panther Party in the 1960's!

 

While the 21st century's understanding of this revolutionary concept is often co-opted and commercialized, the true essence of self-care is best summarized by Audre Lorde in her 1988 essay collection, A Burst of Light: "Caring for myself is not self-indulgence, it is self-preservation, and that is an act of political warfare." 

 

For more information about the history of the self-care movement, check out this article by Lenora E. Houseworth (2021)!

 

 

Self-Care Resources at UNC Charlotte