Skip to Main Content

Oral History Collaborations and Project Resources

Special Collections and University Archives Oral History Overview

The Special Collections and University Archives unit of the J. Murrey Atkins Library works to preserve and share the history and culture of UNC Charlotte and the Charlotte region. Our collections include manuscripts (the personal archives of individuals and families as well as those of local organizations), the university's records, rare and unique books, maps, local government documents, and oral history recordings.

 

              

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Goldmine : Oral History Collections

Oral History Collections

Atkins' oral history recordings have been collected since the early 1970s, and represent a wide range of local and university history. Today, in addition to conducting oral histories to document local and university history, we serve as the repository for oral histories, including those created by:

  • Students 
  • University departments
  • Local cultural institutions 
  • Community groups 

These oral histories can be discovered via our UNC Charlotte Finding Aids, and accessed on our online repository, Goldmine oral history collections.

Support for Oral History Projects

In addition to archiving and giving access to our oral history collections, Special Collections and University Archives also offers resources and support for oral history projects and encourages collaboration to document a wider and more inclusive history of all the people of our region.