Welcome to the Music Research Guide. This guide brings together information you can use to research music topics. Many, but not all, of the resources require being a member of the UNC Charlotte community and having a NINERNet login.
Naxos Music Library (NML) is the world´s largest online classical music library. Offers streaming access to more than 135,560 CDs of both standard and rare repertoire. Over 800 new CDs are added to the library every month.
Offers a wide range of World music, from legendary historical musical performances to contemporary world music. Includes music from over 1500 cultural groups from more than 150 countries. This database is limited to 5 simultaneous users.
An index covering the journal literature of the arts and humanities, part of the Web of Science Core Collection.
(Indexing: 1975+) Arts & Humanities Citation Index is a multidisciplinary index covering the journal literature of the arts and humanities. It fully covers 1,144 of the world's leading arts and humanities journals, and it indexes individually selected, relevant items from over 6,800 major science and social science journals. Contains a current total of over 2.5 million records.
Google Scholar provides a simple way to broadly search for scholarly literature.
Google Scholar provides a simple way to broadly search for scholarly literature. From one place, you can search across many disciplines and sources: peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, abstracts and articles, from academic publishers, professional societies, preprint repositories, universities and other scholarly organizations.
To configure your Google Scholar account follow these steps:
1. Go to scholar.google.com
2. Find the menu located in the top left corner and click on "Settings"
3. Select "Library links"
4. Type "University of North Carolina Charlotte"
5. Select both options
6. Type "Worldcat"
7. Select the option
8. Select "Save"