Skip to main content

HIST 2600: The Nazis and the Final Solution: Secondary Sources

VIDEO: Searching for Secondary Sources

Need Help?

Schedule a time to talk with Amanda Binder, librarian for History, Political Science/MPA, and Latin American Studies!

  • CONNECT: Schedule an appointment with me through Connect (undergraduates only)
  • EMAIL: Email me at abinder3@uncc.edu with dates/times that work for you
  • FORM: Use the Research Consultation Request form

You can also use our CHAT service to get help from other librarians. Meetings can be by phone or using Google Meet. Specify in your request how you want to meet.

Research Tips

AND...
When using Academic Search Premier and Historical Abstracts, be sure to use "and" between the terms.  (E.g. Black death and Italy)
Quotation Marks...
When using JSTOR an AND is automatically inserted between every word. To keep words together as a phrase, use quotation marks. (E.g. "Black death" Italy) 
Asterisk*
An asterisk at the end of a word can find alternate endings. (E.g. Jew* will find Jew, Jews, Jewish, etc)

Catalog Search Box

 

Requesting Library Materials During the University's Response to COVID-19

If you are trying to obtain access to books that we do not have in our collection, please contact me at abinder3@uncc.edu. Options that we may explore are other online e-book collections that are currently available to you through the Internet Archive, Charlotte Mecklenburg Library, and possible purchases of e-books through the library (when available). 

Options for getting print materials from Atkins Library (please watch the video above for instructions):

1. Request scans of a few chapters from any of our print books

2. Work with our staff to gain access to entire books through curbside pickup (by appointment only) or mail delivery (to your home)

3. You can return materials to the book drops throughout campus or by mail. The cost of mail delivery and returns are funded by the library.

For more information, please visit the Update page on the library homepage.

Databases

Use these databases to search for journal articles, book reviews, and historiographical essays.

LC Subject Headings

When you find one good book on your topic, look at the Subjects (or Subject Headings) assigned to that book in the catalog record. Below are some examples of Library of Congress subject headings that might be helpful to you. 

Accessing e-books through the Internet Archive (archive.org)

<