Database covering scholarly research in all areas of philosophy.
1940-current. The Philosopher's Index is a bibliographic database with informative, author-written abstracts covering scholarly research in all areas of philosophy. The literature covered goes back to 1940 and includes journal articles, books, book chapters such as contributions to an anthology, and book reviews. The Philosopher's Index monitors over 550 journals from more than 40 countries.
Includes large corpus of French-language literary, religious, philosophical, political and scientific works from the 12th to 20th centuries. Additional materials in ARTFL: French Women Writers, Provencal poetry, the Encyclopedie Project, the Tresor de la Langue Francaise dictionary, and various other dictionaries.
ARTFL's main corpus, ARTFL-FRANTEXT, consists of nearly 3,000 texts, ranging from classic works of French literature to various kinds of non-fiction prose and technical writing. The eighteenth, nineteenth and twentieth centuries are about equally represented, with a smaller selection of seventeenth century texts as well as some medieval and Renaissance texts. Genres include novels, verse, theater, journalism, essays, correspondence, and treatises. Subjects include literary criticism, biology, history, economics, and philosophy. In addition to FRANTEXT, ARTFL has built hundreds of databases for researchers and students working in specialized disciplines and languages other than French.
An index covering the journal literature of the arts and humanities, part of the Web of Science Core Collection.
(Indexing: 1975+) Arts & Humanities Citation Index is a multidisciplinary index covering the journal literature of the arts and humanities. It fully covers 1,144 of the world's leading arts and humanities journals, and it indexes individually selected, relevant items from over 6,800 major science and social science journals. Contains a current total of over 2.5 million records.
A collection of images from major museums. ARTSTOR images cover art, architecture and archeology. Useful for personal or shared uses, and creating and delivering presentations. ARTSTOR is available solely for educational and scholarly uses that are noncommercial in nature. Images may NOT be placed on publicly accessible websites. UNC Charlotte students, faculty and staff can register for an account which allows off-campus access; this registration must happen while on campus.
Index to Biblical studies, world religions, church history, religion and society.
The American Theological Association's ATLA Religion Database is a compilation of three print indexes Religion Index One: Periodicals, Religion Index Two: Multi-Author Works and Index to Book Reviews in Religion. (Indexing: 1949+ although some citations go back to the 1830's) Covering such topics as Biblical studies, world religions, Church history and religious perspectives on social issues, ATLA Religion Database contains over one million bibliographic records covering the research literature of religion in 26 languages. It includes article citations from 650 journals, essay citations from 14,000 multi-author works, and book review citations. Indexing period from 1949 to the present.
Biographical, critical and bibliographical information on authors.
Literature Resource Center provides access to biographies, bibliographies, and critical analyses of authors from every age and literary discipline. Combining Gale Group's core literary databases in a single online service, the Literature Resource Center covers more than 120,000 novelists, poets, essayists, journalists, and other writers, with in-depth coverage of 2,500 of the most-studied authors. Covers the print indexes: Dictionary of Literary Biography, Twentieth Century Literature Criticism, Contemporary Literary Criticism (full text) and links to many full text journal articles.
Comprehensive online dictionary of the English language.
The most comprehensive dictionary of the English language. It traces the development of English from approximately 1150 AD up to the present day. It covers the full spectrum of English language usage, from formal to slang, as it has evolved over time. Contains the complete text of the 20-volume Second Edition, first published in 1989, together with its 3-volume Additions Series.
Comprehensive reference work devoted to philosophy in Britain.
This is the first comprehensive reference work devoted to philosophy in Britain. In addition to biographical entries on the lives and works of individual thinkers, it incorporates major historical surveys of the core philosophical topics, mini factual entries to facilitate reference, and detailed entries on themes, movements, institutions, journals, influences and theories through the ages. The Encyclopedia brings together 2,500 entries contributed by over 500 international experts. It is a unique resource for students and specialists to tap into the development and transmission of philosophical ideas over time, across disciplines, and to and from other countries.