Contains information about cultural life and history during the 1800's and includes first-hand reports of the major events and issues of the day, including the Mexican War, Presidential and Congressional addresses, the humanities, world travel and religion.
Provides access to U.S. newspapers chronicling a century and a half of the African-American experience. This collection includes historically significant papers and features many rare 19th-century titles.
Searchable American newspaper collections, including African American Newspapers Series 1, 1827-1998; Caribbean Newspapers, 1718-1876; South Carolina's Historical Newspapers; Hispanic American Newspapers, 1808-1980; and selected historical newspapers.
Full text periodicals published between 1740 and 1940.
Over 1100 full text periodicals published between 1740 and 1940. Although the title of the database indicates it ends in 1900, it has many articles up to 1940. Three broad time periods are included: 1) 89 journals published between 1740 and 1800 from colonial status to independence, 2) more than 900 titles from the first 60 years of the nineteenth century, and 3) 118 periodicals published during the Civil War (1861-1865) and Reconstruction (1865-1877) eras. The database contains digitized images presenting the original typography, drawings, graphic elements, and article layouts exactly as they were originally published.
A collection of sources on Southern history, literature and culture from the colonial period through the first decades of the 20th century. Includes: First-Person Narratives of the American South; Library of Southern Literature; North American Slave Narratives; The Southern Homefront, 1861-1865; The Church in the Southern Black Community.
This publication examines how religious history and practices are woven into the political, social, cultural, and historical landscape of North America. Also discussed are the origins, development, adaptation, influence, and interrelations of the many faiths practiced, including major world religions, new religious sects, cults, and religious movements that originated or had an influence in the United States.
Biographical, critical and bibliographical information on authors.
Literature Resource Center provides access to biographies, bibliographies, and critical analyses of authors from every age and literary discipline. Combining Gale Group's core literary databases in a single online service, the Literature Resource Center covers more than 120,000 novelists, poets, essayists, journalists, and other writers, with in-depth coverage of 2,500 of the most-studied authors. Covers the print indexes: Dictionary of Literary Biography, Twentieth Century Literature Criticism, Contemporary Literary Criticism (full text) and links to many full text journal articles.
Bibliographic records of literature, language, linguistics, and folklore. (Indexing: 1926+) Produced by the Modern Language Association of America the database consists of bibliographic records pertaining to literature, language, linguistics, and folklore. The MLA International Bibliography provides access to scholarly research in nearly 4,000 journals and series. It also covers relevant books, working papers, proceedings, bibliographies, and other formats.
Eight Centuries (formerly 19th Century Masterfile) is a database covering primary source materials from 1106 until 1960. Provides access to articles, newspapers, books, U.S. patents, government documents, and images.
American literary history from the 1600s to the present day.
This Encyclopedia surveys American literature in 350 essays from leading scholars, encompassing the range and depth of American literary history from the 1600s to the present day. The Encyclopedia includes essays on poets, playwrights, essayists, and novelists, as well as major works and essays on literary movements, periods, and themes. No mere catalog of dates, events, and synopses, the Encyclopedia's articles offer historical perspective and social context along with a range of possibilities with regard to critical approach.
From the Oxford University Press Digital Reference Shelf collection.
Written by an international roster of more than 300 authors, the Encyclopedia comprehensively documents and interprets the books read by children throughout the world. With a global perspective that pays attention to significant international trends and the multicultural expansion of the field, it includes brief biographies of every major author and illustrator. Also included are feature essays on all genres of children's literature, individual works, and prominent trends and themes, as well as general essays on the traditions of children's literature in many countries throughout the world.
Draws together the diverse historical and contemporary experiences in the United States of Latinos and Latinas from Mexico, Puerto Rico, Cuba, the Dominican Republic, Central America, South America, Europe, Asia, and the Middle East. Articles address such broad topics as identity, art, politics, religion, education, health, and history.
Comprehensively covers the role women have played throughout world history. Contains biographies of influential women and articles covering geography and history, culture and society, organizations, movements, and gender studies.
This database continues the Statistical Abstract published annually by the Census Bureau from 1878 - 2019. In addition, it includes enhancements such as monthly updates of content and line-item access to tables.
A collection of high-quality documentary and educational video programs produced for the Public Broadcasting Corporation. All users will need Flash Media Player 9.0 or higher and a high-speed Internet connection in order to watch the videos.
NEW! Browse, save and monitor journals with BrowZine app