Join the campus Digital Humanities Discussion Group!
This group serves as an outlet for communication between members of UNC Charlotte that have an interest in digital humanities. Members are encouraged to share readings, professional development opportunities, accomplishments, proposals and questions.
Mine Twitter Data
Social Feed Manager (free) - Social Feed Manager empowers researchers and archivists to create collections of social media data from Twitter, Tumblr, Flickr, and Sina Weibo.
TAGS (free) - is a free Google Sheet template which lets you setup and run automated collection of search results from Twitter.
Google N-Grams Viewer - Designed by Google which allows a user to plot the use of words over time in approximately 5 million books. Available in multiple languages.
Open Calais - Offers both free hosting and paid premium accounts. Processes submitted text and returns: Entities, Topic codes, Events, Relations and Social tags.
Overview - Open-source platform for quickly reading and analyzing thousands of documents. It includes full text search, visualizations, entity detection, topic clustering, and more. All in an easy-to use, visual workflow.
TagCrowd - Free web application for visualizing word frequencies in any text by word clouds
Carto - Platform for building powerful Location Intelligence applications using the data streams.
SimplyAnalytics - Web-based mapping application that lets users quickly create professional-quality thematic maps and reports using powerful demographic, business, and marketing data. Available as a library database. Create a personal account if you want save your work or just sign in as a Guest.Offers a variety of tutorials for getting started.
StoryMap JS - Free, open-source tool to help tell online stories that highlight the locations of objects or a series of events. Log in with Google account. Created by Northwestern University Knight Lab. Read this handout for more information. See an example below.
Cytoscape - "Network Data Integration, Analysis, and Visualization in a Box" Open source software platform for visualizing complex networks and integrating these with any type of attribute data. See Miriam Posner's introductory guide Use Cytoscape to make a simple network visualization.
Gephi - Free, open-source network analysis and visualization software package written in Java on the NetBeans platform.
NodeXL Basic - Free and open-source network analysis and visualization software package for Microsoft Excel 2007/2010/2013/2016. NodeXL Pro the fee-based version and includes access to social media network data importers, advanced network metrics, and automation.
Palladio - Free, open source tool set for uploading and analyzing data.
Timeline JS - Free tool for telling stories in a timeline format. Combines dates with text and images. Log in with Google account. Created by Northwestern University Knight Lab. See a video tutorial and example below.
Drupal - Free and open-source content management framework written in PHP and distributed under the GNU General Public License.
Omeka - Open-source content management system and web publishing platform for sharing online digital collections and creating media-rich online exhibits. Free and paid options: Omeka S, Omeka Classic, Omeka.Net, Omeka Everywhere. See handout for more information.
Scalar - Free, open source authoring and publishing platform. Designed for writing long-form, born-digital scholarship online. Provides the ability to assemble media from multiple sources and combine them with writing in a variety of ways. Minimal technical expertise is needed.
Gigapixel - "Map" parts of an image with text and other images. Created by Northwestern University Knight Lab as a feature of StoryMap. Requires hosting a folder of images on a web server. Click on example below.
ImagePlot, ImageMontage, ImageSlice, VisualSense - Software for Digital Humanities
Image Quilts - Google browser extension. Use Google's image search and then delete unwanted images to create a seamless quilt.
TinEye - Reverse image search engine.
ThingLink - Annotate images with text, links, images, etc. Free educational and paid account options. Paid accounts also let you annotate video and 360 views. See example below.
Photogrammetry: Intro to 3D Modeling - Research guide focused on using photogrammetry to create a 3D model. See a visualization of the photogrammetry technique below.
Sketchfab - Online sharing platform for 3D models.
SketchUp - Offers variety of account for creating 3D models, including limited free version and teacher/student discounts.
Tinkercad - Browser-based 3D design platform. Part of Autodesk with free version available.