Skip to main content

Rare Books and Special Collections: Home

This guide provides an overview of the rare books at UNCC and highlights some unique resources

Rare Books and Special Collections

Special Collections Hours

Location: 10th Floor Atkins Library

Hours: Monday-Friday, 10 a.m.-5 p.m 

E-mail: spec-coll@uncc.edu

Phone Number: (704) 687-1170

Special Collections and University Archives

You can access unique research resources such as rare books, manuscripts, archives, maps and photographs in the Dalton Reading Room, located on the 10th floor of Atkins Library. Please see the Special Collections website for our hours and further information.

Rare Books

A publication that would be difficult or impossible to replace if it were to be lost or damaged and that provides an important perspective on the past, whether in terms of the history of books/printing/readership or historical topics reflected in the content.

Our Collection

The rare book collection consists of approximately 12,900 books, broadsides, maps, and other printed materials covering a wide range of topics. Though a majority of the works were created between the 1800s and present day, there is also a significant amount of resources from the seventeenth and eighteenth centuries. Many of these books also feature distinctive early printing, lithograph, and binding techniques.

Particular subject strengths include:

  • Charlotte, Mecklenburg County, and North Carolina history 
  • American and British literature 
  • African American history and literature 
  • Theology and religion 
  • Children's literature 

Sites with Rare Books

Digital Public Library of America- This digital library works to preserve and make digitally accessible various books, online exhibits, and photographs to create a digital public library accessible to the curious researcher. 

Hathi Trust- Grown from a collaboration between academic and research institutions, the Hathi Trust was developed to make various studies and books virtually accessible to the public.

Librarian

Randi Beem's picture
Randi Beem
Contact:
E-mail: rbeem@uncc.edu
704-687-1107
<