The Handbook of Translation Studies (HTS) aims at disseminating knowledge about translation and interpreting and providing easy access to a large range of topics, traditions, and methods to a relatively broad audience.
The Routledge Handbook of Translation and Culture collects into a single volume thirty-two state-of-the-art chapters written by international specialists, overviewing the ways in which translation studies has both informed, and been informed by, interdisciplinary approaches to culture.
Whether by conflict or cooperation, translation has played a major role in the evolution of societies and it has evolved with them. This volume offers different perspectives on, and approaches to, similar topics and situations within different countries and cultures through the work of young scholars.
This work looks at the profession of translator on the basis of developments over the last few years and encourages both practitioners and buyers of translation services to view translation as a highly-qualified, skilled profession and not just a cost-led word mill.
Call Number: Available as ebook and print (6th Floor P306.2 .S667 2013)
A practical guide to translation as a profession, this book provides everything translators need to know, from digital equipment to translation techniques, dictionaries in over seventy languages, and sources of translation work.
This encyclopedia encompasses the full range of topics in linguistics.
The Encyclopedia encompasses the full range of topics in linguistics, including such areas as historical, comparative, formal, mathematical, functional, philosophical, and sociolinguistics. Special attention is given to interrelations within these branches of the field and to relations of linguistics with other disciplines. This interdisciplinary focus makes the encyclopedia an invaluable resource not only for linguistics but also for scholars working in the fields of computer science, mathematics, philosophy, the social and behavioral sciences, and literary studies.
Comprehensive online dictionary of the English language.
The most comprehensive dictionary of the English language. It traces the development of English from approximately 1150 AD up to the present day. It covers the full spectrum of English language usage, from formal to slang, as it has evolved over time. Contains the complete text of the 20-volume Second Edition, first published in 1989, together with its 3-volume Additions Series.
A dictionary representing the full panoply of American regional vocabulary, from Adam’s housecat to Zydeco.
Using Interlibrary Loan
Need a book or article that we don't own? Interlibrary Loan (ILL)is a service that lets students, faculty, and staff of UNC Charlotte borrow materials that are owned by libraries at other institutions.