Procession of Floats by Thomas Edison from The Library of Congress
Ectopic from ZEITGUISED on Vimeo.
Video from Vimeo after filtering search results to Creative Commons-Share Alike license
Video from YouTube after filtering results to Creative Commons
A digital archive of thousands of vintage television commercials dating from the 1950s to the 1980s from Duke University.
Al Jazeera Video
Al Jazeera’s Creative Commons Repository contains broadcast footage that Al Jazeera has released under various Creative Commons licenses.
The American Memory project from the Library of Congress provides access to several hundred early motion pictures
C-SPAN Video Library
Contains all C-SPAN programs since 1987, indexed, abstracted, and cataloged by the C-SPAN Archives staff
Civil Rights Digital Library
Provides access to online films, texts, images, and audio recordings related to the Civil Rights movement in the United States in the 1950s and 1960s.
Collaborative endeavor to create a digital archive of ethnographic field video for use by scholars and instructors.
Focuses on the visual and performing arts
The Media Burn Archive is a collection of over 6,000 independent, non-corporate tapes that reflect cultural, political and social reality as seen by independent producers, from 1969 to the present.
Creative Commons license, Attribution–Non Commercial–No Derivatives (or the CC BY – NC – ND 4.0 International)
US Fish and Wildlife Serivce
Digital Library also includes audio, images, and documents. Most materials are public domain--all are open access.
WGBH Open Vault
Provides online access to unique and historically important content produced by the public television and radio station WGBH.
United Stated Holocaust Memorial Museum
Films in the public domain
Film categories include animation, documentary, comedy, and more. Filter search results by license.
Variety of videos that can be limited by license to Creative Commons.