Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

HIST 4600: Women, Political Activism, and Resistance in the U.S.

Manuscripts and Your Research

Manuscripts are original records and unpublished writings that have been created or collected by individuals, families or organizations in the conduct of their affairs and are acquired by a library, preserved for the long term, and made available for historical research. Note: At Atkins Library, manuscripts refer to those materials that we collect from outside the university and help us to support historical research about the Charlotte-Mecklenburg region.

Manuscript Collections Library Guide

Manuscripts Library Guide-This library guide provides the researcher with a one-stop shop for manuscript research. It places the manuscript collections into different subjects to allow for better discovery. 

Manuscript Collections for HIST 4600

Prominent Women of Charlotte: 

Minnie Stowe Puett papers, 1904-1933: This collection is comprised of the personal papers of Minnie Stowe Puett, who was a Gaston County resident that was involved in the Women's Suffrage Movement and the Equal Rights Amendment of the 1930's. 

Thereasea D. Elder Papers, 1930-2014: Elder was a prominent member of the Charlotte community who worked in various capacities including as a community health nurse, advocate for opportunities within the African-American community, and politics. 

Bonnie Ethel Cone Papers, 1955-1994: Bonnie Ethel Cone began her career as a high school teacher and helped found UNC Charlotte through her tenure as the President of Charlotte College and as the vice chancellor for student and community relations for UNC Charlotte. These papers include Cone's personal papers as well as speeches she gave, photographs of Charlotte College, and correspondence. 

Annie L. Alexander papers, 1881-1929: Alexander was the first woman to practice medicine in the South. Her papers include correspondence, financial records, and essays on medical topics.

Minette Trosch papers, 1977-1987: Minette Trosch was a Charlotte City Council member from 1977 to 1987 and this collection documents her time on the Council. The papers are organized in alphabetical order. 

Dale Halton personal papers and business records, 1980-2000: Halton joined the Board of the Pepsi-Cola Bottling Company of Charlotte in 1971 and became president in 1981, where she oversaw the rebuild of the company. This collection contains her history of the Pepsi-Cola Company, various awards, and her philanthropy within the community. 

Women's Organizations: 

National Organization for Women Charlotte, NC Chapter Records, 1972-2009: The National Organization for Women Charlotte, NC Chapter Records contain photographs, papers, and realia focusing on the Equal Rights Amendments ratification efforts and March of Women's Lives in Washington, DC. 

American Association of University Women. Charlotte Branch records, 1914-2016: The archives of this women's university group includes publications, subject files, and photographs that depict the events of this group. 

Women Mayors of Queen City: 

Jennifer Roberts Mayoral Papers, 2015-2017: This collection documents Roberts' term as Mayor of Charlotte including policies on immigration, the development of Charlotte's Nondiscrimination Ordinance, and the police killing of Keith Lamont Scott. 

Sue Myrick Mayoral Papers, 1987-1991: Myrick was the first female mayor of Charlotte, North Carolina. Her collection documents Charlotte's bid for a National Football League team, issues with traffic, and the building of a new convention center. 

Women in the Church: 

St. Mark's Episcopal Church records, 1904-1940: The St. Mark's Episcopal Church records focus on the activities and membership of the Women's Auxiliary and the Women's Guild including their work in the community through social services and physical maintenance of the church. 

Hopewell Presbyterian Church (Huntersville, N.C.) records, 1817-1970: This collection is from one of the oldest Presbyterian churches in Mecklenburg County and highlight the activities of the women's groups within the church including the Women's Auxiliary, Ladies Missionary Society, and Women of the Church.