Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

English Studies Research Guide

This page provides research support for courses and topics within the Department of English.

Atkins Library Special Collections

Special Collections and University Archives is where you can find materials documenting the history and culture of UNC Charlotte and our region.

Documenting the American South

Search for primary sources related to Southern history, literature, and culture from the colonial period through the first decades of the twentieth century.

Primary Sources: Newspapers

Finding Primary Sources in the Catalog

You can find some primary sources in books.  Below is a list of relevant subject headings.  When searching for these in the catalog, try adding "sources", "documents", "correspondence", "letters", or "writings" to your search.

Primary Sources: Websites

DPLA: A portal to digitized material made available by America's public libraries, museums, and archives.

Internet Archive: A digital library of Internet sites and other cultural artifacts in digital form. Includes digitized books, periodicals, media, and more.

American Memory: Provides free and open access through the Internet to written and spoken words, sound recordings, still and moving images, prints, maps, and sheet music that document the American experience.

Avalon Project: Documents from pre-18th through the 20th century relevant to the fields of law, history, economics, politics, diplomacy, and government.

Making of America (via University of Michigan): Primary sources in American social history for the 19th century.

World Digital Library: Primary sources from all countries and cultures.

Primary Sources: Databases