It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Sandra Bailey is active in the Charlotte LGBTQ community, longtime member of One Voice Chorus, and co-chair of First Tuesday. Collection consists of materials donated during Bailey's oral history interview (conducted by Tina Wright). Materials are materials primarily from 1991-1995, but also includes a copy of Bailey's 2008 book.
Barret's published works focus on parenting, issues of grief and loss, and clinical services to the sexual minority community. In addition to his professional writing, Barret has been active in promoting social justice, both in his home community, and in the American Counseling Association. This is a small collection comprised of correspondence and clippings.
Keith Bernard was born in Rock Hill, SC and graduated from Winthrop University. He later attended the University of North Carolina at Charlotte. The bulk of the collection documents Bernard's participation in numerous Charlotte-area LGBTQ organizations.
Josh Burford has done extensive work to preserve and make accessible queer history of the American South. The bulk of the collection relates to the establishment and collecting efforts of the King-Henry-Brockington LGBTQ+ Archive, as well as research into the history of Charlotte's LGBTQ community.
The papers consist of materials created and collected by Sue Henry as proprietor of the Rising Moon Books and Beyond bookstore, Charlotte mayoral candidate, and member of a range of social and political organizations. Though particularly focused on gay and lesbian issues, the collection documents Henry's broad-based activism throughout the 1990s and includes numerous newsletters produced by Charlotte-area activist organizations. Materials include printed ephemera, clippings, newsletters, publications, and memorabilia.
Lenore Jones Deutsch holds a masters degree in Clinical Psychology and maintained a private practice in Charlotte, North Carolina, where she worked as a psychologist, seminar leader, and consultant. Personal and professional papers including organizational records, magazine and newspaper articles, political buttons, books, posters, decorated HIV vest, brochures.
The Frances Curry Kerr records related to inclusion at Myers Park Baptist Church is comprised of five folders of printed records related to congregational dialogue and the resulting policy changes concerning matters of sexuality at Myers Park Baptist Church. In particular the records document the question of inclusion for LGBT people in the congregation.
The Donaldson Wells King Papers include correspondence, writings, personal memorabilia, documentation of King's involvement in the Charlotte LGBT community, as well as subject files and assorted publications.
The Linda Lawyer writings and memorabilia is a small collection which mainly consists of printed copies of her monthly column, “The Soft Spot,” published in the newspaper Q Notes between 1988 and 1992.
Jim Long II was born in Gastonia, NC and lived in Los Angeles, CA until 2000. He was the first openly Gay city councilman from Bessemer City, NC. The collection documents Long's personal life and political career, as well as his involvement in the LGBTQ community in Los Angeles.
Kimberly Melton is from Charlotte with a long history of working with the LGBTQ community. The collection primarily documents lesbian activism in Charlotte, NC and includes: WOW newsletters, materials from National Lesbian Conference, Lambda Connections, and more.
After relocating to the Charlotte-Mecklenburg area, Don Rosenthal became active in two LGBT organizations; Mecklenburg LGBT Political Action Committee (MeckPAC) and Equality North Carolina (ENC). The bulk of the materials derive from Rosenthal's direct involvement with MeckPAC and Equality NC.
Diana Travis is a local Charlotte activist and a member of the Charlotte LGBTQ community. The bulk of the collection documents the Better Homos and Gardens events, but also includes correspondence, and newspaper clippings and articles.
Tom Warshauer, Community and Commerce Manager in the City’s Neighborhood and Business Services Department, has worked for the City of Charlotte for 20 years developing and managing programs to revitalize distressed neighborhoods and business districts. He is also an active volunteer and board member for environmental, arts, social equity and LGBT organizations. The bulk of the collection documents Tom Warshauer's involvement in local LGBT organizations.
The collection concerns the perspectives, opinions, and creativity of Julia Willis, a lesbian author in the late twentieth century. The collection consists of her writings: short stories, poems, articles, book drafts, and play scripts.