It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Papers and selected art work of Haley. The collection includes drafts of her books printing blocks and color separations for some of her illustrations. Gail Haley was the first only person to win both the Caldecott and the Greenway awards for children's book illustration.
Donated by Shelton Drum, owner of Heroes Aren't Hard to Find, the collection contains several specialty comics that are HeroesCon-themed or were designed by Charlotte artists. Additionally, there is a series of convention booklets from HeroesCon.
Papers of an editor of The Charlotte News (1949-54) and The Charlotte Observer (1955-76). Consists primarily of material relating to his service as editor of The Observer and as president and project director for the American Society of Newspaper Editors. Also includes material about his association with the Southern Education Reporting Service, family correspondence, speeches, and photographs.
The North Carolina Print and Drawing Society (NCPDS) was formed in 1978 with the goal of "awakening a widening interest in the graphic arts in Carolina." Includes minutes, financial records, newsletters, and correspondence.
The collection consists of the professional and personal photographic work of Steve Perille, a photojournalist who worked for the Bloomington Herald-Times, the St. Louis Post-Dispatch, and the Charlotte Observer. A noted photographic essayist, the collection includes prints and negatives of his features, news, pictorial, portraits, and sports photography.