It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
2 Docket books containing summons, judgments, and warrants with various loose legal documents comprise this assortment of papers left by a justice of the peace in the Paw Creek community of Mecklenburg County, NC. around the end of the 19th and beginning of the 20th centuries
Papers of a lawyer and conservative political activist, including records of his law practice in Charlotte, North Carolina and his service as an attorney at the U.S. Dept. of Education and the U.S. Dept. of Justice during the Reagan and Bush administrations. Includes correspondence documenting his involvement with various conservative political and religious groups, including the North Carolina Conservative Union, the North Carolina Fund for Individual Rights, the Southern Employees Education Fund, Young Republicans, and anti-abortion groups Birthchoice and Pro-life Alliance of Gays and Lesbians.
Materials from the case files of a Charlotte law firm documenting the lawsuit of Brenizer v. Stephens, et al., in an effort to remove residential restrictions on property in the Myers Park neighborhood of Charlotte. Includes correspondence, court documents, clippings, photographs, and maps.
The collection includes case files generated by Ferguson, Stein, Chambers, Gresham and Sumter Law Firm in the firm's work representing James Swann, one of the plaintiffs, on the Capacchione v. Charlotte-Mecklenburg Schools case.
iles of a Charlotte attorney and his firm, Chambers, Stein, Ferguson, and Lanning, relating to their representation of Darius and Vera Swann and other plaintiffs in the landmark case, Swann v. Charlotte-Mecklenburg Board of Education. Includes pleadings and other documents prepared by Chambers and attorneys for the Board of Education at the district, circuit, and Supreme Court levels.
Collection consists of letters received from the Charlotte School of Law by various elected officials and members of the community, primarily when it received full accreditation from the American Bar Association. Additionally, there are a few school newsletters, programs and memorabilia items.
Papers of a Charlotte attorney relating to his defense of the Charlotte-Mecklenburg Board of Education in the landmark case, Swann v. Charlotte-Mecklenburg Board of Education. Consists primarily of legal documentation of proceedings and briefs prepared by defendants and plaintiffs for presentation to the U.S. District Court for Western North Carolina, the U.S. Fourth Circuit Court of Appeals, and the U.S. Supreme Court.
Papers of a mayor of Charlotte (1927-29) and judge of the Domestic Relations and Juvenile Court (1935-49). Includes speeches, arguments of Redd as a defense attorney in murder cases, correspondence, clippings, photographs, and material on the United Confederate Veterans Reunion in Charlotte (1929). Also includes papers of Redd's wife, Bessie Flowe Redd, and her father, J. Lee Flowe, a grocer. Her papers include material about the DAR Liberty Hall chapter of Charlotte and an autographed photograph of evangelist Billy Sunday.
Papers of a Charlotte attorney relating to his defense of the Charlotte Mecklenburg Board of Education in the landmark case, Swann v. Charlotte-Mecklenburg Board of Education. Consists primarily of legal documentation of proceedings and briefs prepared by defendants and plaintiffs for presentation to the U.S. District Court for Western North Carolina, the U.S. Fourth Circuit Court of Appeals, and the U.S. Supreme Court.