Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Staff Development: New Employee Orientation

This guide is to introduce new employees to their work environment and to acquaint them with the library organization as well as to provide helpful resources to make the orientation process a positive, informative and comfortable experience.

Atkins Library

Location of Departments and Offices

Administration--Administration is located on the 2nd floor of the library. (Card Access Required for entry)This department includes the following: 

  • Personnel and Financial Services
  • Employee Relations
  • Staff Development
  • Diversity Initiatives
  • Facilities and Security Services (Ground floor and First floor)
  • Assessment
  • Special Assistants to the Dean
  • Communications, Marketing and Public Relations
  • External Relations
  • Copyright/Legal

Technology and Digital Strategies--Technology and Digital Strategies is located on the 2nd floor. This department includes the following:

  • Software Development
  • Technical Support
  • Library Technology and Innovation

Public Services--Public Services is located on the 1st and 2nd floors. This department includes the following:

  • Circulation and Reserves Services
  • Collections Maintenance
  • Interlibrary Loan Services
  • Research and Instruction

Special Collections and University Archives--Special Collections and University Archives is located on the 9th,10th and lower level floors. (Card Access Required for entry to 9th and Lower Level) This department includes the following:

  • Digital Programs
  • Special Collections Reference and Outreach
  • University Archives
  • Oral History
  • Metadata Processing and Cataloging

Collection Services--Collection Services is located on the 2nd. (Card Access Required for entry) This department includes the following:

  • Collections
  • Acquisitions

Department Policies and Procedures--Kronos (Tracking Your Time)

Vacation/Sick Leave
 

Kronos

Non-Exempt Employees SHRA (SPA)

  • Will    clock    in    and    out    on    a    virtual    timesheet    by    clicking   “Clock  In” and  “Clock  Out"  
     
  •  Will    submit    Change    Requests to    add    or    modify    punches,    modify    or    cancel    
  •  Submit    Time    Off    Requests to    their    supervisors    for    approval    before    the    Time    Off    
  • Submit    bi-weekly    timesheet    for    approval    at    end    of    each    bi-period    

 

Exempt    Non-supervising    Employees EHRA (EPA/Library Faculty)

  •  Submit    Time    Off    Requests to    their    supervisors    for    approval    before    the    Time    Off    
  •  Will submit Change    Requests to modify or cancel approved    Time    Off (if taken or within 1 week of taking Time Off).

Department Policies and Procedures

 

                                   

           Checking Out Materials


Library Faculty and Staff have no restrictions to the number of items being checked out. The loan period is 180 days with two renewals.

All borrowers are informed of the date due of each item at checkout. The borrower is responsible for complying with this date. A courtesy reminder will be sent 7 days before the due date. Failure to receive an overdue reminder, for whatever reason, does not relieve the borrower of financial responsibility for overdue material.

Recalls
Borrowers may request to recall items checked out to another person after the current borrower has had the material for 21 days.  Library materials needed for Course Reserves may be recalled immediately. All items are subject to this recall policy. Due to the importance of the recall process, borrowers are urged to regularly monitor the status of their library account, either online or by contacting Circulation.

It is the borrower’s responsibility to keep their email and mailing addresses current and up-to-date in order to properly receive library notices.

*Periodicals checkouts are only for faculty, staff, and Ph.D. students

 

Staff Development and Self-Selected Group Development Resources:

  • items/books/resources can be order (loan period is for three weeks) Resources are located on bookcase across from Denelle's office Atkins 253

Money Money Money

Payday

 

State Employees are paid
 on the  
15th of the month
 and the
Last day of the month

(If payday falls on a Saturday or Sunday, payday is on the previous Friday)