Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

GEOG 4000/5000 Neighborhood Planning Seminar: Maps

This course is designed to introduce the concepts of neighborhood and community in the context of community development. The course focuses on neighborhood planning and organizing as an intervention for neighborhhood revitalization and capacity building.

Maps

Maps in Special Collections primarily focus on Charlotte and Mecklenburg County and range from the late 1700s to the present day.

Special Collections

Hours: Monday-Friday, 9 am - 5 pm

Location: 10th Floor Atkins Library

For more information or assistance:

Email: spec-coll@uncc.edu

Phone: (704) 687-1170

Map Collections

These map collections are available in Special Collections:

Charlotte (N.C.) Engineering Department Maps

The early history of many of Charlotte's neighborhoods can be studied through these maps, numbering approximately 800. A number of these maps show tax assessments per lot, the names of the property owners, railroads, and highways.

J. Murrey Atkins Library Special Collections map collection

Includes many maps of the Charlotte and Piedmont region along with not-so-local areas.

Charlotte-Mecklenburg government maintains this page with links to several GIS and mapping resources

Librarian

Profile Photo
Randi Beem
Contact:
E-mail: rbeem@uncc.edu
704-687-1107