Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

HIST 2600: The Great War in history and memory: Society, culture and politics: Home

To examine the social, cultural and political impact of the First World War

Research Guide for History Skills Seminar

The J. Murrey Atkins Special Collections at the University of North Carolina at Charlotte is dedicated to supporting the teaching, research, and public service missions of the university by acquiring, organizing, preserving, and making available to a wide audience rare and unique materials in certain defined categories.

Among those resources are many that relate to the topic of this class, The Great War in history and memory: Society, culture and politics.

This guide is not intended to be a complete finding aid to the collections it highlights.  It can be a starting point for research for this class and does give some suggestions for manuscript collections, oral histories, and rare books.  More detailed descriptions of the sources listed below are available in Special Collections, through the Special Collections homepage at http://specialcollections.uncc.edu, and in the Library's online catalog.  The catalog is accessible through the Internet at http://library.uncc.edu/search/advanced/.

Manuscript Collections

Manuscript collections consist primarily of unpublished documents such as literary manuscripts, letters, diaries, cartoons, photographs, architectural drawings, and organizational, church and governmental records.  Also included are some printed materials, microforms, audio recordings, films and other items.  Atkins Library's Manuscript Collections focus on materials related to the people and history of the greater Charlotte region, with particular attention to the Charlotte-Mecklenburg area.

Manuscript collections

 

Using the Collections

While using manuscript collections, please help us preserve our materials by following a few rules:

  1. Use only pencil when using Special Collections materials.
  2. Use only one folder at a time.
  3. Handle documents with care.
  4. Keep the documents in the same order.
  5. Do not place personal items on top of Special Collections materials.

Databases

Digitized Collections

Oral Histories

New South Voices
New South Voices provides access to more than 700 transcripts of interviews, narratives and conversations documenting life in the Charlotte, North Carolina region in the twentieth century.  It includes the experiences and languages of recent immigrants to the area.  The interviews were conducted by UNC Charlotte faculty, students and staff, as well as several community organizations.  These interviews are part of the Oral History Collection in the Department of Special Collections.

Suggested Manuscript Collections

DVD Video and Panorama Photos

 

Camp Greene

Suggested Oral Histories

Special Collections and University Archives

You can access unique research resources such as rare books, manuscripts, archives, maps and photographs in the Dalton Reading Room, located on the 10th floor of Atkins Library. Please see the Special Collections website for our hours and further information.