Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

HIST 2600: Cold War Culture in the US and Europe

Special Collections

  

 

Hours: Monday-Friday, 9am-5pm

Location: 10th Floor Atkins Library

Email: spec-coll@unccc.edu

Phone (704) 687-1170

Manuscripts

Papers of Benjamin Gitlow, 1910-1968 

Papers of a co-founder of the Communist Labor Party and the Communist Party, USA (Majority Group), who later became an avid anti-Communist. Consists predominately of printed material dating from 1949-65, but also includes correspondence, speeches, writings, research notes, and financial records from all periods of his life.

Helen Avery Williams papers concerning anti-communist organizations, 1949-1983

Primarily booklets, flyers, and pamphlets produced by conservative, anti-communist organizations collected by Helen Avery Williams (Mrs. McChord WIlliams). Includes material by and about J. Edgar Hoover, the John Birch Society, the National Council of Churches, Walter Reuther, and Christmas card from Herbert A. Philbrick.

Papers of Robert E. Scoggin, 1900-2003

Papers of a member and grand dragon of the Ku Klux Klan in South Carolina, primarily from the 1960s to the 1980s. This collection consists primarily of publications of various Klan organizations, but also includes correspondence, newspaper clippings, periodicals, and personal information.

American new left collection, 1960-1975

Pamphlets, broadsides, newspapers, and other printed items published by various radical groups based largely in the Midwest, especially Milwaukee, Wisconsin. Material addresses such issues as the Vietnam War; United States political involvement in Latin America and other regions; civil rights, racism, and black power; socialism and communism and their relevance to the United States; economics and labor; and women's liberation.

Ruth Ann Fogartie travel diary, 1976

Typewritten travel diary describing a group trip from Charlotte to London, Scandinavia, and the Soviet Union in July, 1972. 

Harry Golden papers part 1 and Harry Golden papers part 2

Papers of a journalist, best selling author, and civil libertarian. Consists chiefly of material generated as editor (1944-68) of the Charlotte-based Carolina Israelite but also documenting his involvement in the Democratic Party, the civil rights movement, and Jewish issues. Includes extensive correspondence files, manuscripts and research materials for books and articles, speeches, financial records, publications, and photographs. [Note: These are very large collections. To find folders that may include Cold War materials, scroll to bottom of finding aid. Under components, click "Search Components" and enter search terms. Put phrases in quotes, i.e. "soviet union"]

Oral Histories

J. Charles Jones oral history interview, 2005 May 18

Describes testimony before House Committee on Un-American Activities (occasioned by participation in 7th World Festival of Youth and Students for Friendship, organized by the Soviet Union--also connection with Paul Robeson).

Barbara Campbell oral history interview, 1998 November 13

Covers trip to Soviet Union in 1963.