Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

HIST 2161: African American History Survey Since 1865: Digital Collections

Undergraduate course in African American history from 1860. The course examines the experience of African Americans as they began to participate in society as a United States citizen.

Living Charlotte

Digitized Collections

Atkins Library Special Collections seeks to promote and expand access to our rare and unique materials through an ongoing digitization program. The subject focus of our digitized collections is life in the Charlotte-Mecklenburg region, from before the Civil War to the late twentieth century. The types of materials include photographs and other visual formats, family papers, and correspondence. - http://digitalcollections.uncc.edu

Built Environment Digital Collection

A partnership with the North Carolina State University Libraries and the North Carolina State Archives, this resource includes over 3,000 architectural drawings, photographs, and other materials. Atkins Library Special Collections provided over 1,500 items from several collections including Martin Evans Boyer; Louis Asbury; and the firm of Biberstein, Bowles, Meacham and Reed.

Civil War-Era Documents

Atkins Library Special Collections contributed 104 items, including letters, family papers, bills of sale and receipts, to the Civil War in the American South project, a central portal to access digital collections from the Civil War Era (1850-1865) held by members of the Association of Southeastern Research Libraries (ASERL).

Instruction Archivist

Randi Beem's picture
Randi Beem
Contact:
E-mail: rbeem@uncc.edu
704-687-1107