Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

HIST 2161: African American History Survey Since 1865: Manuscript Collections

Undergraduate course in African American history from 1860. The course examines the experience of African Americans as they began to participate in society as a United States citizen.

Manuscript Collections

Manuscript Collections consist primarily of unpublished documents such as literary manuscripts, letters, diaries, cartoons, photographs, architectural drawings, and organizational, church and governmental records. Also included are some printed material, microforms, audio recordings, films and other items. Atkins Library's Manuscript Collections focus on materials related to the people and history of the greater Charlotte region, with particular attention to the Charlotte/Mecklenburg area.

More information about the materials held in Special Collections is available through the Library Catalog, the Special Collections website, and in the repository.

Suggested Collections

The following is a list of manuscript collections that have been selected for your class. These manuscript collections support the topic of your course, African American History Survey since 1860. 

Instruction Archivist

Randi Beem's picture
Randi Beem
Contact:
E-mail: rbeem@uncc.edu
704-687-1107