It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
A Bioinformatics Guide for Molecular Biologists by Sarah Aerni (Editor); Marina Sirota (Editor)
Publication Date: 2014-05-31
The Biologists Handbook of Pronunciations by Edmund Jaeger
Call Number: QH13 .J3 1960
Publication Date: 1960-09-01
Birds of the Central Carolinas by Donald W. Seriff; Leigh Anne Carter (Illustrator)
Publication Date: 2018-03-30
The definitive book on birds found in the Carolina Piedmont. Vastly more informative than a field guide, this work presents historical material previously unpublished in any book and deftly incorporates firsthand accounts by Piedmont birders.
Native Plants of the Southeast by Larry Mellichamp; Will Stuart (Photographer)
Publication Date: 2014-01-28
This complete guide is an invaluable resource, with plant profiles for over 460 species of trees, shrubs, vines, ferns, grasses, and wildflowers. Each plant description includes information about cultivation and propagation, ranges, and hardiness. Comprehensive lists recommend particular plants for difficult situations, as well as plants for attracting butterflies, hummingbirds, and other wildlife.
The Cambridge History of Medicine by Roy Porter (Editor)
Publication Date: 2006-06-05
Against the backdrop of unprecedented concern for the future of health care, The Cambridge History of Medicine surveys the rise of medicine in the West from classical times to the present. Covering both the social and scientific history of medicine, this volume traces the chronology of key developments and events, while at the same time engaging with the issues, discoveries, and controversies that have beset and characterized medical progress. The authors weave a narrative that connects disease, doctors, primary care, surgery, the rise of hospitals, drug treatment and pharmacology, mental illness and psychiatry.
The Field Herping Guide by Mike Pingleton; Joshua Holbrook
Publication Date: 2019-06-01
This guidebook is geared toward new field herpers and uses proven methods from professional herpetologists Mike Pingleton and Joshua Holbrook. TOPICS COVERED INCLUDE: Getting Started Understanding Herp Behavior Finding Herps Catching and Handling Herps Safety in the Field Ethics and Etiquette, Rights and Responsibilities Classification, Taxonomy, and Species Identification Citizen Science and Data Collection Herp Photography Social Aspects of Field Herping A History of Field Herping
It is a comprehensive reference on insects featuring an easy identification guide using 28 picture keys, 4000 color photographs taken in the field (not pinned specimens), expert advice on observing insects, and more. Features include: detailed chapters covering insect orders and insect families a brief examination of common families of related terrestrial arthropods 4000+ color photographs showing typical behaviors and key characteristics three indexes--common family names, photographs, general index expert guidance on observing, collecting and photographing insects new remarks on declining habitat and threats to biodiversity.
Statistics for Terrified Biologists by Helmut van Emden
Publication Date: 2008-04-28
The typical biology student is "hardwired" to be wary of any tasks involving the application of mathematics and statistical analyses, but the plain fact is much of biology requires interpretation of experimental data through the use of statistical methods. This is an ideal statistics resource tool for undergraduate biology and environmental science students who lack confidence in their mathematical abilities.
The Training of Cancer Researchers by Jose Russo
Publication Date: 2017-03-27
This book discusses a number of topics that address the challenges of cancer researchers and the origins of cancer research from a cultural and historical perspective.
Using the Biological Literature by Diane C. Schmidt
Publication Date: 2014-04-14
The biological sciences cover a broad array of literature types, from younger fields like molecular biology with its reliance on recent journal articles, genomic databases, and protocol manuals to classic fields such as taxonomy with its scattered literature found in monographs and journals from the past three centuries. This completely revised edition contains numerous new resources and descriptions of all entries including textbooks. The guide emphasizes current materials in the English language and includes retrospective references for historical perspective and to provide access to the taxonomic literature. it includes listings of authoritative informational resources of both classical and recently published works.
Biogeography by Lomolino & Riddle; Mark V. Lomolino; Brett R. Riddle; Robert J. Whittaker
Publication Date: 2016-10-31
Biogeography is one of the most comprehensive text and general reference books in the natural sciences. The fifth edition builds on the strengths of previous editions to provide an insightful and integrative explanation of how geographic variation across terrestrial and marine environments has influenced the fundamental processes of immigration, extinction, and evolution to shape species distributions and nearly all patterns of biological diversity.
Grey literature is information produced by government, academia, business, and industry, where publishing is not the primary activity of the producing body.
GreySource provides examples of grey literature to the average net-user and in so doing profiles organizations responsible for its production and/or processing. Only web-based resources that explicitly refer to the term grey literature (or its equivalent in any language) are listed.
New and expanded for its second edition, Environmental Microbiology: From Genomes to Biogeochemistry¸ Second Edition, is a timely update to a classic text filled with ideas, connections, and concepts that advance an in-depth understanding of this growing segment of microbiology.
This book provides two thousand multiple choice questions on human anatomy and physiology, separated into 40 categories. The answer to each question is accompanied by an explanation. Each category has an introduction to set the scene for the questions to come.
Fishes of the World, Fifth Edition is the only modern, phylogenetically based classification of the world's fishes. The updated text offers new phylogenetic diagrams that clarify the relationships among fish groups, as well as cutting-edge global knowledge that brings this classic reference up to date.
"Invasion Genetics: the Baker et Stebbins legacy provides a state-of-the-art treatment of the evolutionary biology of invasive species, whilst also revisiting the historical legacy of one of the most important books in evolutionary biology: The Genetics of Colonizing Species, published in 1965 and edited by Herbert Baker and G. Ledyard Stebbins.
The book traces the roots of plant biotechnology from the basic sciences to current applications in the biological and agricultural sciences, industry, and medicine. The book vividly describes the processes and methods used to genetically engineer plants for agricultural, environmental and industrial purposes, while also discussing related bioethical and biosafety issues. It also highlights important factors that are often overlooked by methodologies used to develop plants' tolerance against biotic and abiotic stresses and in the development of special foods, bio-chemicals, and pharmaceuticals.
Stepping in the Same River Twice by Ayelet Shavit (Editor); Aaron M. Ellison (Editor); W. John Kress (Foreword by)
Publication Date: 2018-10-08
An international team of biologists, philosophers, and historians of science explores the critically important process of replication in biological and biomedical research.
"On Being a Scientist" was designed to supplement the informal lessons in ethics provided by research supervisors and mentors. The book describes the ethical foundations of scientific practices and some of the personal and professional issues that researchers encounter in their work. It applies to all forms of research--whether in academic, industrial, or governmental settings-and to all scientific disciplines. This third edition of "On Being a Scientist" reflects developments since the publication of the original edition in 1989 and a second edition in 1995.
Written by a prominent biologist, this best-selling guide teaches students to express ideas clearly and concisely. It emphasizes writing as a way of examining, evaluating, and refining ideas: students learn to read critically, study, evaluate and report data, and communicate with clarity. Using a narrative style, the text is its own example of good analytical writing. In this new edition, students learn how to avoid plagiarism (Ch 1 and 3), read and interpret data (Ch 3, 4 and 9), prepare effective Materials and Methods sections in research reports and more (Ch 9), and prepare manuscripts for submission (Ch 9). The text also provides advice on locating useful sources (Ch 2), maintaining laboratory and field notebooks (Ch 9), communicating with different audiences (Ch 6 and 10), and crafting research proposals (Ch 10), poster presentations (Ch 11), and letters of application (Ch 12).
The book is meant to serve as a practical writing guide that covers the writing process from the project's inception until online distribution of the published article. The book covers the framework for constructing a scientific study into a coherent narrative that can later be easily translated into a written manuscript. This book is best suited for young professionals who are a few years out of school. They no longer enjoy the benefit of close mentoring by a thesis adviser or equivalent, but still lack the experience to lead writing projects on their own. Topics such as coordinating the writing in a multinational team, use of different types of software in the writing process and resources available online to support the writer are addressed in detail.
This comprehensive guide for students writing in biology, zoology, and botany provides detailed instruction on researching, drafting, revising, and documenting papers, reviews, poster presentations, and other forms of science writing. The sixth edition features an expanded and revised chapter 1 on research strategies and sources, a greater diversity of examples from different subdisciplines (molecular biology, animal ecology, and genetics), and new technology tips throughout for searching databases and using software designed for charts, graphs, note-taking, and documentation.