Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Eighteenth and Nineteenth Century African American Women Writers: Phillis Wheatley Collection

Rare Book Collection

The Rare Book Collection can be found in the Special Collections Department on the 10th floor of the Library. The collection contains rare and unique published works focused in American and British Literature, Children's Literature, and regional history as well as a broad range of other topics.

Phillis Wheatley

Portrait by Scipio Moorhead (S.M.)

 

Suggested Books

 The following is a list of books the class viewed on their visit to Special Collections 

Phillis Wheatley Resources

 Wheatly, Phillis, 1753-1784

The poems of Phillis Wheatly, as they were originally published in London, 1773.

Philadelphia, Pa., Republished by R.R. and C.C. Wright, 1909.

Rare Books 10th Floor--PS866. W5 1909

 

Wheatley, Phillis, 1753-1784.

The poems of Phillis Wheatley/ Edited with an introduction by Julian D. Mason.

Chapel Hill, N.C. : University of North Carolina Press, [2001], c1989.

Rare Books 10th Floor--PS866. W5 2001

 

Wheatly, Phillis, 1753-1784.

Life and works of Phillis Wheatley: containing her complete poetical works, numerous letters, and a complete biography of this famous poet of a century and a half ago/ by G. Herbert Renfro. Also, a sketch of the life of Mr. Renfro, by Leila Amos Pendelton. Washington, 1916.

Washington, D.C. : Robert L. Pendleton, 1916.

Rare Books 10th Floor--PS866. W5 1916

 

Wheatley, Phillis, 1753-1784.

Poems and letters; first collected edition, ed. by Chas. Fred. Heartman; with an appreciation by Arthur A. Schomburg.

New York, C.F. Heartman [1915]

Rare Books 10th Floor--PS866. W5 1915

 

Wheatley, Phillis, 1753-1784.

Memoir and poems of Phillis Wheatley, a native African and a slave. Also, Poems by a slave ...

Boston, I. Knapp, 1838.

Rare Books 10th Floor--PS866.W5 1838

 

Wheatley, Phillis, 1753-1784.

Memoir and poems of Phillis Wheatley, a native African and a slave. Dedicated to the friends of the Africans.

Boston, G. W. Light, 1834.

Rare Books 10th Floor--PS866.W5 Z46 1834

 

Wheatley, Phillis, 1753-1784.

Poems on various subjects, religious and moral.

London, 1816.

Rare Books 10th Floor--PS866. W5 1816

 

Wheatley, Phillis, 1753-1784.

Poems on various subjects, religious and moral / by Phillis Wheatley, Negro servant to Mr. John Wheatley, of Boston, in New-England. Dedicated to the Countess of Huntington.

Walpole, N.H. : Printed for Thomas & Thomas, by David Newhall, 1802.

Rare Books 10th Floor--PS866.W5 1802

 

Wheatley, Phillis, 1753-1784.

Poems on various subjects, religious and moral. By Phillis Wheatley ...

Philadelphia, Printed by and for W.W. Woodwoard, 1801.

Rare Books 10th Floor--PS866.W5 1801

 

Wheatly, Phillis, 1753-1784.

Poems on comic, serious and moral subjects. By Phillis Wheatley, Negro-servant to Mr. John Wheatley, of Boston, in New-England.

London, Printed for J. French, Bookseller [1787]

Rare Books 10th Floor--PS866.W5 1787

 

Wheatley, Phillis, 1753-1784.

On recollection.

[London, St. John's Gate, 1773]

Rare Books 10th Floor--PS866.W5 O5 1773

 

Gillies, John, 1712-1796.

Memoirs of the life of the Reverend George Whitefield, M. A. late chaplain to the Right Honourable the Countess of Huntingdon ...Faithfully selected from his original papers, journals, and letters ...To which are added, a particular account o his death and funeral; and extracts from the sermons, which were preached on that occasion. Compiled by the Rev. John Gillies.

London, E. and C. Dilly; [etc.] 1772.

Rare Books 10th Floor--BX9225.W4 G45 1772

 

Pemberton, Ebenezer, 1705-1777.

Heaven the residence of the saints : a sermon occasioned by the sudden, and much lamented death of the Rev. George Whitefield, A.M. chaplain to the Right-Honourable the Countess of Huntington, delivered at the Thursday lecture in Boston, in America, Oct. 11, 1770 / by Ebenezer Pemberton, pastor of a church in Boston. To which is added, an elegiac poem on his death by Phillis, a Negro girl of seventeen years of age, belonging to Mr. J. Wheatley of Boston.

Boston : [s.n.] : London: reprinted for E. and C. Dilly in the Poultry, 1771

Rare Books 10th Floor--BX9225.W4 P35 1771

 

Heartman, Charles F. (Charles Frederick), 1883-1953.

Phillis Wheatley (Phillis Peters); a critical attempt and a bibliography of her writings, by Chas. Fred. Heartman.

New York, For the author, 1915.

Rare Books 10th Floor--PS866.W5 Z6 1915

 

Pope, Alexander, 1688-1744.

The works of Alexander Pope. With his last corrections, additions and improvements. Together with the commentary and notes of his editor.

London, A. Millar, 1766.

Rare Books 10th Floor--PR3621.W2 1766

 

Homer.

The Odyssey of Homer. Tr. by Alexander Pope.

London, Printed for J. Whiston Baker [etc.] 1771.

Rare Books 10th Floor--PA4025.A5 P6 1771

Original attribution

This LibGuide was originally created by Denelle Eads 
deads@uncc.edu
704-687-1165