Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Charlotte Region's Textile Industry: Rare Book Collection

Guide to Special Collections resources related to the textile industry in the greater Charlotte Region.

Rare Book Collection

The Rare Book Collection can be found in the Special Collections Department on the 10th floor of the Library. The collection contains rare and unique published works focused in American and British Literature, Children's Literature, and regional history as well as a broad range of other topics.

Suggested Books

Southern Textile Bulletin

1918 health and happiness number. Charlotte, N.C. : Clark Publishing Co., 1918. HD9877.A13 S68 1918 Special issue of the Southern textile bulletin, v.16, no. 16 (December 19, 1918).

Health and happiness number 1919. Charlotte, N.C. [Clark Pub. Co.] 1919. HD9877.A13 S68 1919 Special issue of Southern textile bulletin, v. xviii, no. 17.

Labor Issues and Strikes

Beal, Fred Erwin, 1896-1954. Proletarian journey: New England, Gastonia, Moscow. New York, Hillman-Curl, 1937.  HD8073.B4 A3 1937

Dunne, William F. Gastonia, citadel of the class struggle in the new South, by William F. Dunne. New York, Pub. for National Textile Workers Union by Workers Library Publishers [1929] HD5325.T4 1929 G32

Justice--North Carolina style : the record of the year's struggle for unions in Gastonia and Marion, April 1929 to April 1930. New York City : American Civil Liberties Union, 1930. HD5325.T4 J87 1930

O'Connor, Jessie Lloyd, 1904- Gastonia : a graphic chapter in southern organization / by Jessie Lloyd. New York : National Executive Committee of the Conference for Progressive Labor Action, 1930. HD8085.G383 O36 1930

Page, Myra, 1897-1993. Southern cotton mills and labor / by Myra Page ; with an introduction by Bill Dunne. New York, Workers Library Publishers c1929. HD8039.T42 U658 1929

Pickard, Walt. The Burlington dynamite plot / by Walt Pickard ; pictures by Bill Siegel. New York : International Labor Defense, [between 1934 and 1939]. HD5325.T42 1934 B89 1934z

Textile Fiction and Literature

Thomas, Ethel, 1870-1970.   

*Ethel Thomas wrote about life in textile mills and villages. Her books were published here in Charlotte, NC. We have 11 of her books in the Rare Book Collection, below are some examples."

The better way : a story founded on facts, showing the happy results of co-operation between labor and capital, and the reward of faithful and loyal service of mill operatives / by Ethel Thomas. Charlotte, N.C. : Mill News Print. Co., 1918.PS3539.H5748 B48 1918

Alice in blunderland / by Ethel Thomas. Charlotte, N.C. : Clark Pub., [19--]. PS3539.H5748 A55 1900z

From ball room to weave room / by Ethel Thomas. Charlotte, N.C. : Clark, [19--]  PS3539.H5748 F7 1900z

Truth crushed to earth / by Ethel Thomas. Charlotte, N.C. : Clark, [19--] PS3539.H5748 T7 1900z

General Reports and Textile Education and Processes

Tompkins, Daniel Augustus, 1851-1914

Cotton values in textile fabrics. A collection of cloth samples, arranged to show the value of cotton, when converted into various kinds of cloth. By D. A. Tompkins. TS1580 .T66 1900

Cotton mill processes and calculations. An elementary text book for the use of textile schools and for home study by D.A Tompkins. Charlotte, N.C., The author, 1902. TS1575 .T67 and 1899 TS1575 .T67 1899

Cramer, Stuart W. (Stuart Warren), b. 1868. Useful information for cotton manufacturers. Compiled and issued by Stuart W. Cramer. TS1575 .C85  V.1- V. 4

Southern Combed Yarn Spinners Association. Annual report of the secretary / Southern Combed Yarn Spinners Association. [Gastonia, N.C.?] : Southern Combed Yarn Spinners Association, [1938?]- HD9870.1 .S68  1944/45

Chamber of Commerce Publications

Harris, Wade H. (Wade Hampton), 1858-1935.  

Sketches of Charlotte : with its mills, factories, banks, mercantile establishments, fine hotels, newspapers, schools, churches, fine streets, and wealth of population : it presents a living picture of the busy, thriving, flourishing, up-to-date Southern town : North Carolina's finest city / engravings from photographs by J.H. VanNess and Son. Charlotte, N.C. : Wade H. Harris ; issued under the auspices of the Charlotte Board of Aldermen, 1896. F264.C4 S579 1896

Sketches of Charlotte : North Carolina's finest city and the recognized cotton milling centre of the southern states ... / Wade H. Harris. Charlotte, N.C. : W.H. Harris, 1907.  F264.C4 H3 1907

Charlotte, the industrial center of the Carolinas / prepared by the Charlotte Chamber of Commerce (Inc.) [Charlotte, N.C.? : Charlotte Chamber of Commerce?], 1947. F264.C4 C535 1947

Charlotte, North Carolina : distribution center in war and peace. Charlotte : Chamber of Commerce, 1945. F264.C4 C5199525 1945

Charlotte, North Carolina : diversified industrial and commercial center. Charlotte, N.C. : Chamber of Commerce, 1927 (Charlotte, N.C. : The Observer Printing House and The Bierman Engraving Co.) F264.C4 C519953 1927

Subject Librarian

Profile Photo
Randi Beem
Contact:
E-mail: rbeem@uncc.edu
704-687-1107