Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Charlotte Region's Textile Industry: Manuscript Collections

Guide to Special Collections resources related to the textile industry in the greater Charlotte Region.

Manuscript Collections

Manuscript Collections consist primarily of unpublished documents such as literary manuscripts, letters, diaries, cartoons, photographs, architectural drawings, and organizational, church and governmental records. Also included are some printed material, microforms, audio recordings, films and other items. Atkins Library's Manuscript Collections focus on materials related to the people and history of the greater Charlotte region, with particular attention to the Charlotte/Mecklenburg area.

More information about the materials held in Special Collections are available through the Library Catalog, the Special Collections website, and in the repository.

Suggested Collections

Mildred Gwin Andrews Papers

Papers of a businesswoman in the textile industry, including her service with the American Textile Machinery Association, participation in international trade missions, and the operations of Andrewtex, a public relations consulting firm Andrews established after her departure from ATMA.

Arthur and Farrar Family Papers

Correspondence and subject files of James and Katherine Arthur of Gaston County, N.C. Includes daily expense records, business correspondence related to James's work as a textile mill accountant, and papers of Dr. James Park McComb relating to his gold mining activities in Charlotte.

Erlanger Mills, Inc. Records, 1962-1971

Records of a textile mill which operated in Lexington, N.C. Contains affirmative action plans, financial analyses, income statements, labor policies and statistics, merchandising plans, operating reports and statistics, and strategic plans.

Don S. Holt Papers

Papers of the first non-family member to head Cannon Mills. Includes annual reports, correspondence, speeches, an unpublished company history, clippings, an anti-union film, copies of the firm's newspaper, and a scrapbook (1929) documenting Holt's football career at UNC-Chapel Hill.

Leaksville Woolen Mills (Homestead Plant) Collection, 1900-1988

Material relating to the history of a west Charlotte mill. Includes photocopies of a promotional piece (1900) and a notebook (1919-20) involving construction of mill #2, an historical essay by former executive vice president James P. Wilson, photographs, and interviews with former employees.

 Erastus C. McAlpine Diaries, 1915-1921

Diaries of a worker in Charlotte's Louise Cotton Mill. Topics mentioned include area textile mills, religion, the weather, activities of family and friends, and public events from the local to the international.

Nebel Knitting Company Collection, 1936-1969

Primarily advertising material for a Charlotte-based hosiery mill founded in 1923 by William Nebel, a German immigrant, and purchased in 1968 by Morris Speizman. Also includes photographs of employees.

 Boyd E. Payton Papers

Primarily material relating to the involvement of this Textile Workers Union of America official in a strike at Harriet-Henderson Mills in Henderson, N.C. (1958-61), his conviction and subsequent imprisonment amidst allegations of a state-supported frame-up, and his eventual pardon. Includes correspondence, transcripts of radio broadcasts, clippings, audio-visual material, and manuscripts of his book, Scapegoat (1970).

Alice Lindsay Tate Papers

Personal and family papers of a Charlotte native who moved to New York City in the 1930s to pursue an operatic career. Among many other things the collection includes typescript of the diary (1844-54) of textile mill pioneer Edwin Michael Holt.

Textile Mill Supply Company Records, 1898-1997

Records (mostly minute books and books of stock certificates) of the Textile Mill Supply Company, the Industrial & Hardware Supply Company, and the Industrial and Textile Supply Company, of Charlotte, NC from 1898 to 1997. The collection also includes records of the TMS Realty Company, whose purpose was to administer the land holdings of its parent company.

Subject Librarian

Profile Photo
Randi Beem
Contact:
E-mail: rbeem@uncc.edu
704-687-1107