It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
The Encyclopedia of Women's History in America by Kathryn Cullen-DuPont
Publication Date: 2000-07-01
This encyclopedia chronicles over 300 years of movements, legislation, court cases, and notable women, covering labour issues, sufferage, literature, medicine, equality, politics, athletics, and women's organizations.
A Black Women's History of the United States by Daina Ramey Berry; Kali Nicole Gross
Publication Date: 2020-02-04
2021 NAACP Image Award Nominee: Outstanding Literary Work - Non-Fiction A vibrant and empowering history that emphasizes the perspectives and stories of African American women to show how they are--and have always been--instrumental in shaping our country In centering Black women's stories, two award-winning historians seek both to empower African American women and to show their allies that Black women's unique ability to make their own communities while combatting centuries of oppression is an essential component in our continued resistance to systemic racism and sexism. Daina Ramey Berry and Kali Nicole Gross offer an examination and celebration of Black womanhood, beginning with the first African women who arrived in what became the United States to African American women of today. A Black Women's History of the United States reaches far beyond a single narrative to showcase Black women's lives in all their fraught complexities. Berry and Gross prioritize many voices: enslaved women, freedwomen, religious leaders, artists, queer women, activists, and women who lived outside the law. The result is a starting point for exploring Black women's history and a testament to the beauty, richness, rhythm, tragedy, heartbreak, rage, and enduring love that abounds in the spirit of Black women in communities throughout the nation.
Handbook of American Women′s History by Angela Howard (Editor); Frances M. Kavenik (Editor)
Publication Date: 2000-07-22
This major reference work provides short articles on key people, events and ideas that have shaped the history of women in the United States. Of interest to women′s studies researchers and students everywhere, this Handbook is a comprehensive, interdisciplinary view of a fascinating field of study.
Women's History in Global Perspective by Bonnie G. Smith (Editor)
Publication Date: 2004-08-30
The American Historical Association's Committee on Women Historians commissioned some of the pioneering figures in women's history to prepare essays in their respective areas of expertise. This volume, the first in a series of three, collects their efforts. Women's History in Global Perspective, Volume 1 addresses the comparative themes that the editors and contributors see as central to understanding women's history around the world. Later volumes will be concerned with issues that have shaped the history of women in particular regions. The authors of these essays, including Margaret Strobel, Alice Kessler-Harris, and Mrinalini Sinha, provide general overviews of the theory and practice of women's and gender history and analyze family history, nationalism, and work. The collection is rounded out by essays on religion, race, ethnicity, and the different varieties of feminism. Incorporating essays from top scholars ranging over an abundance of regions, dates, and methodologies, the three volumes of Women's History in Global Perspective constitute an invaluable resource for anyone interested in a comprehensive overview on the latest in feminist scholarship.
Gender Conflicts by Franca Iacovetta (Editor); Mariana Valverde (Editor)
Publication Date: 2016-01-29
These essays represent an exciting breakthrough in women's studies, expanding the borders of the discipline while breaking down barriers between mainstream and women's history.
The Black Women Oral History Project by Ruth Edmonds Hill (Editor)
Publication Date: 2003-06-30
This ten-volume work contains interviews with 66 women of African descent who made significant contributions to American society in the early and mid-20th century. They were asked questions about family background, childhood, education and influences affecting their choice of career or activity.
U. S. Women's History by Leslie Brown (Editor); Christina Greene (Contribution by); Jen Manion (Contribution by); Andrea Estepa (Contribution by); Kirsten Delegard (Contribution by); Jacqueline Castledine (Editor, Contribution by); Anne Valk (Editor, Contribution by); Deborah Gray White (Foreword by); Nancy A. Hewitt (Preface by); Danielle Phillips (Contribution by); Rebecca Tuuri (Contribution by); Ariella Rotramel (Contribution by); Danielle L. McGuire (Contribution by)
Publication Date: 2017-01-25
In the 1970s, feminist slogans proclaimed "Sisterhood is powerful," and women's historians searched through the historical archives to recover stories of solidarity and sisterhood. However, as feminist scholars have started taking a more intersectional approach--acknowledging that no woman is simply defined by her gender and that affiliations like race, class, and sexual identity are often equally powerful--women's historians have begun to offer more varied and nuanced narratives. The ten original essays in U.S. Women's History represent a cross-section of current research in the field. Including work from both emerging and established scholars, this collection employs innovative approaches to study both the causes that have united American women and the conflicts that have divided them. Some essays uncover little-known aspects of women's history, while others offer a fresh take on familiar events and figures, from Rosa Parks to Take Back the Night marches. Spanning the antebellum era to the present day, these essays vividly convey the long histories and ongoing relevance of topics ranging from women's immigration to incarceration, from acts of cross-dressing to the activism of feminist mothers. This volume thus not only untangles the threads of the sisterhood mythos, it weaves them into a multi-textured and multi-hued tapestry that reflects the breadth and diversity of U.S. women's history.
Selling Women's History by Emily Westkaemper
Publication Date: 2017-01-09
Only in recent decades has the American academic profession taken women's history seriously. But the very concept of women's history has a much longer past, one that's intimately entwined with the development of American advertising and consumer culture. Selling Women's History reveals how, from the 1900s to the 1970s, popular culture helped teach Americans about the accomplishments of their foremothers, promoting an awareness of women's wide-ranging capabilities. On one hand, Emily Westkaemper examines how this was a marketing ploy, as Madison Avenue co-opted women's history to sell everything from Betsy Ross Red lipstick to Virginia Slims cigarettes. But she also shows how pioneering adwomen and female historians used consumer culture to publicize histories that were ignored elsewhere. Their feminist work challenged sexist assumptions about women's subordinate roles. Assessing a dazzling array of media, including soap operas, advertisements, films, magazines, calendars, and greeting cards, Selling Women's History offers a new perspective on how early- and mid-twentieth-century women saw themselves. Rather than presuming a drought of female agency between the first and second waves of American feminism, it reveals the subtle messages about women's empowerment that flooded the marketplace.
Citizenship and the Origins of Women's History in the United States by Teresa Anne Murphy
Publication Date: 2013-06-07
Citizenship and the Origins of Women's History in the United States challenges twenty-first-century assumptions of nineteenth-century women's history by tracing the ways women's history was politicized, particularly in light of the growing activism of women and the first woman's rights movement.
Women Shaping the South by Angela Boswell; Judith N. McArthur
Events in southern history have often been recounted from the top down, relying on political and economic models to explain historical changes. Thus, the key players have usually been men who dominated politics, shaped economic development, and led armies. However, history is also made from the bottom up by those who confront change and shape it through their actions. In this collection of essays, the contributors reexamine major transformative events of southern history from the late eighteenth century through the civil rights era. Shifting the focus to the local level, the authors demonstrate how women participated in creating change, even as they confronted conditions over which they had little power. In addition to exploring southern women's lives, this collection shows how women shaped southern history. Using new and extensive primary research, each of these authors presents a new perspective on the important roles that women of different races and classes have played in transforming the South at some of its most crucial turning points, including post-Revolution, Civil War, Jim Crow era, World War I, and the civil rights movement. Expanded from papers presented at the Sixth Southern Conference on Women's History in Athens, Georgia, these essays reflect the depth and breadth of current vibrant research in southern women's history and contribute exciting and important new scholarship to the field. Just as significant, the volume highlights the trends in southern women's historical scholarship and points toward new directions for future scholars.