It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Focusing predominantly on Atlanta, Chicago, St. Louis, New York, and towns and cities in North Carolina this resource presents multiple aspects of the African American community through pamphlets, newspapers and periodicals, correspondence, official records, reports and in-depth oral histories.
Presents unique insight into interactions between American Indians and Europeans from their earliest contact, continuing through the turbulence of the American Civil War, the on-going repercussions of government legislation, right up to the civil rights movement of the mid- to late-twentieth century
Letters, diplomatic dispatches, reports, trial papers, activists’ biographies and first-hand accounts of events from British government files offer access to the history of South Africa’s apartheid regime.
This collection brings together rare books, games, and artwork from the nineteenth to early twentieth centuries revealing the socio-cultural views and environment of the time. It examines the way in which new concepts were introduced to young readers, encouraging an engagement with the imagination and introducing them to lessons in morality, nationality, and their place in society.
Documenting missionary work from the nineteenth to the twenty-first century, this resource includes publications from the CMS, the Church of England Zenana Missionary Society and the latterly integrated South American Missionary Society.
Collection consists of the Confidential Print for Africa. Topics covered include coastal trading in the early nineteenth century, the Conference of Berlin of 1884 and the subsequent Scramble for Africa, the abuses of the Congo Free State, World War II, and apartheid in South Africa. Topics range from c. 1834-1966.
Collection consists of the Confidential Print for Central and South America and the French- and Spanish-speaking Caribbean. Topics covered include slavery and the slave trade, immigration, relations with indigenous peoples, and wars and territorial disputes. Topics range from c. 1833-1969.
Collection consists of the Confidential Print for the countries of the Levant and the Arabian peninsula, Iran, Turkey, Egypt and Sudan. Topics include the Egyptian reforms of Muhammad Ali Pasha in the 1830s, the documents trace the events of the following 150 years, including the Middle East Conference of 1921, the mandates for Palestine and Mesopotamia and the 1956 Suez Crisis. Topics range from c. 1839-1969.
Collection consists of the Confidential Print for the United States, Canada and the English-speaking Caribbean, with some coverage of Central and South America. Covers such topics as slavery, Prohibition, the First and Second World Wars, racial segregation, and territorial disputes, sources range from c. 1824-1961.
Provides access to a vast body of original British source material that will enrich the teaching and research experience of those studying history, literature, sociology and education from a gendered perspective.
Explore rare and invaluable sources that offer insight into the experiences of people who lived through England's Early Modern Era. The sources range from diaries and personal papers to church records and assizes (court session) records pertaining to ordinary and prominent individuals and families alike.
Containing royal charters, correspondence, trading diaries, minutes of council meetings, and reports of expeditions, among other document types, this resource charts the history of British trade and rule in the Indian subcontinent and beyond from 1599 to 1947.
Bringing together rare journals printed between c. 1685 and 1835, this resource illuminates all aspects of eighteenth-century social, political and literary life. Topics covered are wide-ranging and include colonial life, provincial and rural affairs and the French and American revolutions.
This resource brings together manuscript, printed and visual primary source materials for the study of 'Empire' and its theories, practices and consequences. The materials span across the last five centuries and are accompanied by a host of secondary learning resources.
Delve into the cultural study of music and explore content from across the globe with this diverse and comprehensive collection including audio field recordings and interviews, educational recordings, film footage and field notebooks.
From personal collections and rare printed material to military files, artwork and audio-visual files, content highlights the experiences of soldiers, civilians and governments on both sides of a conflict that shook the world.
Explores primary source material documenting the story of food and drink throughout history. The materials in this collection illustrate the deep links between food and identity, politics and power, gender, race and socio-economic status.
Focuses on the political and social history of India, Pakistan and Afghanistan. Events covered include independence and partition, the Indian annexation of Hyderabad and Goa, and war between India and Pakistan. Topics covered c. 1947-1980.
Incorporating the Taishō to the Shōwa periods, these papers throw light on Anglo-Japanese ties in a time of shifting alliances. Documenting Japan’s journey to modernity, the files discuss a period in which the country took on an increasingly bold imperialist agenda c. 1919-1952.
Sourced from The National Archives, UK, this collection of British Foreign Office Files provides significant insight into the shifting political landscape of Southeast Asia from 1963-1980. Materials cover topics such as the formation of Malaysia, tensions between Indonesia and Malaysia, internal conflict, and development of trade and foreign policies.
Addresses the policies, economies, political relationships and significant events of every major Middle East power from 1971-1981. Conflicts such as the Arab-Israeli War, the Lebanese Civil War and the Iranian Revolution are examined in detail, as are the military interventions and peace negotiations carried out by regional and foreign powers.
Discover the various European and colonial frontier regions of North America, Africa and Australasia through documents that reveal the lives of settlers and indigenous peoples in these areas c. 1650-1920.
Documents the changing representations and lived experiences of gender roles and relations from the nineteenth century to the present. Primary sources cover women's suffrage, the feminist movement, the men’s movement, employment, education, the body, the family, and government and politics.
Uses manuscript, printed and visual primary source materials for the study of global commodities in world history and highlights the way they transformed societies, global trading operations, habits of consumption and social practices.
A rite-of-passage for many aristocratic and wealthy young men of the eighteenth century, The Grand Tour (an extended visit to the European continent) shaped the creative and intellectual sensibilities of some of the eighteenth century’s greatest artists, writers and thinkers. These accounts of the English abroad, c1550-1850, highlight the influence of continental travel on British art, architecture, urban planning, literature and philosophy.
Documents the history, operation, policies, and accomplishments of one of the world's largest and oldest advertising firms. Papers reveal many aspects of 20th century business, marketing, consumer, and economic history.
Contains unpublished poems, working notebooks, and early annotated editions from the Victorian period's most famous authors. Also showcases the business of Victorian publishing through documenting the relationship between writers and their publishers through correspondence and financial and legal documents.
Contains full color images of the original letter collections from five 15th century English families. Collection gives insight into medieval business, daily, and domestic life. Original images and transcripts can be viewed side by side.
Explores travel writing from the later medieval period chiefly focusing on journeys through central Asia and the Far East. Maps, individual manuscript illuminations, and and some modern translations of key travel texts also included.
Through the historic John Murray Publishing Archive, this resource offers insight into nineteenth century culture, and the literary luminaries who shaped it, through through writings on domestic life, travel, politics, society, literature, poetry, and business.
Explores the Anglo-American relations and politics during the Nixon administration, using discussions and briefing papers from Britain's Foreign and Commonwealth Office (FCO). Material also covers social conditions, domestic reforms, trade, culture and the environment of the time c. 1969-1974.
Explores women authors who were "lost" due to their writing only existing in an unpublished manuscript form. The manuscripts in this database were all written by women in the British Isles during the 16th and 17th centuries.
Discover what life was like for the poorest communities in Victorian Britain, and explore the government policy, social reform movements and philanthropic efforts of charitable institutions that sought to alleviate poverty.
Documenting three pivotal decades in the fight for civil rights, this resource showcases the speeches, reports, surveys and analyses produced by the Race Relations Department based at Fisk University c. 1943-1970.
Uncovers some of the best known literature and fine art of the Romantic era. All documents are digitized in color and include verse and printed manuscripts, diaries, travel journals, guidebooks, fine art, and maps.
Explores the changing attitudes towards human sexuality, gender identities, and sexual behaviors throughout the twentieth century. Based upon the work of leading American sexologists, sex researchers, organizations, and public consciousness, this collections investigates the complexities of human sexual understanding.
Showcases rare and unique prompt books that tell the story of Shakespeare's plays as they were performed throughout Great Britain, the United States, and internationally between the seventeenth and twentieth centuries.
Offers insights into the performance practices in the reconstructed Globe Theatre through prompt books, wardrobe notes, programs, publicity material, annual reports, show reports, photographs and architectural plans.
Incorporates primary and secondary sources to explore and compare unique material relating to the complex subjects of slavery, abolition and social justice c. 1490-2007. Sources include court records, maps, scholarly essays, and abolition society records.
A collection of films from the communist world reveals war, history, current affairs, culture and society as seen through the socialist lens. Collection spans most of the twentieth century and covers countries such as the USSR, Vietnam, China, Korea, much of Eastern Europe, the GDR, Britain and Cuba.
Explores travel accounts by women using diaries, correspondence, drawings, guidebooks, and postcards. Sources cover a variety of topics including customs, exploration, the British Empire, family life, diplomacy and more. Primary sources range from 1818- the 1970s.
Explores the Ferrar Papers, an essential source for studying the Atlantic World and Early Colonial Period as seen through the papers of the Virginia Company of London, 1606-1624. Also covers the economic history of colonial establishment and the religious and social history of early colonists.
Includes a finding aid to women's studies resources in The National Archives (UK) and original documents pertaining to women's suffrage in Britain, the British Empire, and other colonial territories c. 1903-1962.