It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
From the Oxford University Press Digital Reference Shelf collection.
This encyclopedia spans every art form, medium, and civilization of the era, tracing the development of the art forms in Classical civilizations. The encyclopedia contains hundreds of updated, revised, and expanded entries from the expansive scholarship in the Dictionary of Art and Grove Art Online, as well as dozens of new, specially-commissioned entries.
This beautiful volume is the first book to provide a complete history of pasta in Italy, telling its long story via the extravagant variety of shapes it takes and the even greater abundance of names by which it is known.
Within the vast literature of the Renaissance, this is the one indispensable book: for the student who wants a guide to the complicated maze of Italian Renaissance political history; the scholar who needs a convenient, unified reference source; the art lover who wants to check facts and discover the background to the masterpieces of painting and sculpture; the traveler in Italy who wants to understand the great works of art and architecture in their context; and also the general reader who wants to find out more about this fascinating and important historical and cultural epoch.
The second edition of Historical Dictionary of Modern Italy is an attempt to introduce the key personalities, events, social developments, and cultural achievements of Italy since the beginning of the 19th century, when Italy first began to emerge as something more than a geographical entity and national feeling began to grow. This is done through a chronology, a list of acronyms and abbreviations, an introductory essay, a map, a bibliography, and some 400 cross-referenced dictionary entries on prominent individuals, basic institutions, crucial events, history, politics, economics, society, and culture.
E-Books on Rome
These eBooks allow for virtual access from anywhere and do not need to be checked out or returned.
Channel your inner gladiator at the Colosseum, view some of the world's most celebrated works of art at the Vatican Museums, or toss a coin at Trevi Fountain; all with your trusted travel companion. Get to the heart of the best of Rome and begin your journey now!
The Roman Empire was a remarkable achievement. This "Very Short Introduction" covers the history of the Empire from Augustus (the first Emperor) to Marcus Aurelius, describing how the empire was formed, how it was run, its religions and its social structure.
The A to Z of Modern Italy is an attempt to introduce the key personalities, events, social developments, and cultural achievements of Italy since the beginning of the 19th century, when Italy first began to emerge as something more than a geographical entity and national feeling began to grow.
Searching for eBooks
This video shows you how to search for eBooks using the library's search system.