Skip to main content

Historic Charlotte Neighborhoods: Home

This guide provides histories of minority communities in Charlotte, some of which have disappeared or been gentrified, but many are very much alive.

Introduction

Charlotte has changed dramatically since it was first settled by European Americans in 1755. The city has grown to fill Mecklenburg County and has incorporated outlying towns and villages, including numerous primarily African American communities. This guide provides histories of such communities in Charlotte, some of which have disappeared or have been gentrified, but many are very much alive. Each neighborhood overview includes a brief history of the community, resources found in UNC Charlotte's Special Collections, oral histories, historic sites within the neighborhoods, and outside resources for further research.

Special Collections and University Archives

J. Murrey Atkins Library Department of Special Collections and University Archives is dedicated to preserving and sharing the history and culture of UNC Charlotte and the Charlotte region. Our collections include the personal papers of individuals and families, the records of local organizations, the university's own records, rare and unique books, maps, and oral history recordings. Special Collections welcomes students and faculty from all academic disciplines to learn how our rare and unique materials can be incorporated in their research and learning.

Location
Atkins Library, 10th floor

Hours
See departmental calendar for current hours

Contact
spec-coll@uncc.edu, 704-687-1170

Researchers

Research conducted and histories written by UNC Charlotte Public History graduate students Casey Moore, 2016-2017 (Belmont, Biddleville, Brooklyn, Cherry, Derita, Enderly Park, Greenville, and Optimist Park) and Sarah Wilds, 2017-2018 (Derita, Grier Heights, McCrorey Heights, Shuffletown, and Washington Heights).

Special Collections & University Archives Digital Content

<