Primary Sources/Databases and Websites
Primary Sources were written at or near the time of the event, sometimes by eyewitnesses. Some appropriate Primary Sources are listed below. Some are library databases. If you use these from off campus, you will be prompted to log in with your Ninernet username and password.
- American Periodicals Full Text periodicals published between 1740-1940
- Black Women in America From the Oxford University Press Digital Reference Shelf collection.
- Nineteenth Century in PrintFrom The Making of America in Prints and Periodicals
- North American Women's Letters and Diaries Letters and diaries of women from colonial times to 1950.
- Documenting the American South Primary source materials relating to Southern history.
- Oral Histories of the American South: Southern Women
Primary Sources/Newspapers
- African American Newspapers, 1827-1998 Full-text access to 270 historically significant African-American newspapers .
- Atlanta Constitution (1868-1942) Newspaper includes obituaries, stocks and editorials.
- Charlotte Observer 1892-1922 Newspaper that includes obituaries, stocks and editorials.
- Chicago Defender (1910-1975)A leading African-American newspaper, with more than two-thirds of its readership outside of Chicago.
- Times Picayune News Orleans based newspaper covering 1923 - 1988.
Secondary Sources/Databases
- America: History and Life Resources for history of US & Canada-See Historical Abstracts for world history.
- JSTOR Full text scholarly journals - social and general sciences, humanities. Contains primary and secondary sources.
- Project Muse Scholarly journals in the arts and humanities, social sciences and mathematics.
- Academic Search Complete Multi-disciplinary database.
Google Book Search
Subject Librarian |
Links: Profile & Guides |




Loading...
