Index to Biblical studies, world religions, church history, religion & society.
The American Theological Association's ATLA Religion Database is a compilation of three print indexes Religion Index One: Periodicals, Religion Index Two: Multi-Author Works and Index to Book Reviews in Religion. (Indexing: 1949+ although some citations go back to the 1830's) Covering such topics as Biblical studies, world religions, Church history and religious perspectives on social issues, ATLA Religion Database contains over one million bibliographic records covering the research literature of religion in 26 languages. It includes article citations from 650 journals, essay citations from 14,000 multi-author works, and book review citations. Indexing period from 1949 to the present.
Provides a wide range of primarily full-text, international periodicals for diverse religious and spiritual studies, covering formal theological studies of major religions, as well as the most recent trends and scholarly thought.
Included are titles from religious publishing bodies and nondenominational organizations. The resource reflects a wide spectrum of religious belief systems and supports the global study of religion.
An Interdisciplinary database indexing for over 9,000 publications, with full text for nearly 7,800 of those titles.
Contains indexing for over 8,200 publications, with full text for nearly 4, 650 of those titles. PDF back files to 1975 or further are available for well over one hundred journals, and searchable cited references are provided for more than 1,000 titles. Academic Search Premier contains...full text coverage in biology, chemistry, engineering, physics, psychology, religion & theology, etc.
Main page which links to all available EBSCO databases.
EBSCO main page which lists all of the available databases. These include general, multidisciplinary indexes to full-text articles and some abstract only articles, indexes to business, education, health and nursing, military and other resources. Several indexes may be searched simultaneously.
References to resources on the history of the world (excluding U.S and Canada).
Coverage: 1954+ References to journal articles and articles in collections, citations to abstracts of dissertations, and citations to books on the history of the world (excluding the United States and Canada) from 1450 to the present.
Bibliographic records of literature, language, linguistics, and folklore.
(Indexing: 1926+) Produced by the Modern Language Association of America the database consists of bibliographic records pertaining to literature, language, linguistics, and folklore. The MLA International Bibliography provides access to scholarly research in nearly 4,000 journals and series. It also covers relevant books, working papers, proceedings, bibliographies, and other formats.
Full-text newspaper articles covering international, national, and local news.
Full-text newspaper articles covering international, national, regional, state, and local news. Includes the New York Times, Los Angeles Times, Washington Post, Atlanta Journal-Constitution, Chicago Tribune, Christian Science Monitor, Charlotte Observer, and many others.
Relationships among human beings, their environments, and religions.
The Encyclopedia of Religion and Nature is a landmark work in the field of religion and nature. It covers a vast and interdisciplinary range of material, from ecology, theology, philosophy, and beyond. The Encyclopedia critically explores the relationships among human beings, their environments, and the religious dimensions of life.In addition to the standard, scholarly entry, this highly-accessible reference is creatively enriched through two unique, additional genres: scholarly perspectives articles wherein authors advance an argument or reflect on their own role in or views regarding the religion and nature field; and practitioner entries, which are written by well-known figures who have had an impact in the issues the encyclopedia engages.
This publication examines how religious history and practices are woven into the political, social, cultural, and historical landscape of North America. Also discussed are the origins, development, adaptation, influence, and interrelations of the many faiths practiced, including major world religions, new religious sects, cults, and religious movements that originated or had an influence in the United States.
Addresses all aspects of the dialogue between the sciences and the world's religions. Examines controversial issues such as human cloning, and stem cell research as well as traditional questions such as the origins of life and the nature of sin.
The definitive account of what is known about the Dead Sea Scrolls.
Featuring 450 articles by an international community of 100 distinguished scholars, the Encyclopedia is the definitive account of what we know about the scrolls—their history, relevance, meaning, and the controversies that surround them. The works are viewed in historical, linguistic, and religious contexts, with archaeological evidence providing a clear basis for dating and preservation of the manuscripts.
Reference source on all aspects of the Christian Church.
Uniquely authoritative and wide-ranging in its scope, The Oxford Dictionary of the Christian Church is the indispensable reference work on all aspects of the Christian Church. It contains over 6,000 A-Z entries, and offers unrivalled coverage of all aspects of this vast and often complex subject, from theology; churches and denominations; patristic scholarship; and the bible; to the church calendar and its organization; popes; archbishops; saints; and mystics.