The Correlates of State Policy Project includes more than seven-hundred variables, with observations across the U.S. 50 states and time (1900 – 2016). These variables represent policy outputs or political, social, or economic factors that may influence policy differences across the states. The codebook includes the variable name, a short description of the variable, the variable time frame, a longer description of the variable, and the variable source(s) and notes.
TRIAL: World News Connection
A powerful online subscription service bringing news from around the world, translated into English, typically within 24-72 hours from the time of the original publication or broadcast. Access through 2/28 from the Trials tab.
An Interdisciplinary database indexing for over 9,000 publications, with full text for nearly 7,800 of those titles.
Contains indexing for over 8,200 publications, with full text for nearly 4, 650 of those titles. PDF back files to 1975 or further are available for well over one hundred journals, and searchable cited references are provided for more than 1,000 titles. Academic Search Premier contains...full text coverage in biology, chemistry, engineering, physics, psychology, religion & theology, etc.
Google Scholar provides a simple way to broadly search for scholarly literature.
Google Scholar provides a simple way to broadly search for scholarly literature. From one place, you can search across many disciplines and sources: peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, abstracts and articles, from academic publishers, professional societies, preprint repositories, universities and other scholarly organizations.
Archive of social and political science data and datasets.
The Inter-university Consortium for Political and Social Research (ICPSR) provides access to a vast archive of social and political science data and datasets for research and instruction. It also offers training in quantitative methods to facilitate effective data use. UNCC faculty and students can create an account on campus. Reading and manipulation of this data may require statistical software such as SPSS or SAS.
This resource covers issues in the public debate through selective coverage of a wide variety of international sources including journal articles, books, government documents, statistical directories, grey literature, research reports, conference papers, web content, and more.
PAIS Archive is included in this database and includes the content from printed volumes published 1915-1976.
Literature across all fields of science and social science.
Comprehensive coverage of literature across all fields of science and social science. Provides access to more than 850 of Elsevier's primary research journals, which focus on scientific, medical, biomedical and technical areas.
Citation and subject searching of research journals.
(Indexing: Science Citation Index Expanded, 1900+; Social Sciences Citation Index, 1900+; Arts & Humanities Citation Index, 1975+). It provides bibliographic citations from over 5,600 scholarly, peer-reviewed journals. Search by subject, author, source, affiliation, address and cited reference.
Politics, international relations, government, public policy.
(Indexing: 1975+) Citations, abstracts and indexing of the international serials literature in political science and related fields, including international relations, law, and public administration/policy.
Primary source for legal research. Also provides access to a wide range of news and business sources. Its coverage includes magazines, journals and law reviews, newspapers, news transcripts, state and federal laws and court rulings, and reference sources.
Full-text newspaper articles covering international, national, and local news.
Full-text newspaper articles covering international, national, regional, state, and local news. Includes the New York Times, Los Angeles Times, Washington Post, Atlanta Journal-Constitution, Chicago Tribune, Christian Science Monitor, Charlotte Observer, and many others.
Full text newspaper articles covering international, national and local news.
Provides cover-to-cover full text for 149 national & international newspapers, including The New York Times, The Boston Globe, San Francisco Chronicle, The Christian Science Monitor, USA Today, The Washington Post, The Washington Times, The Times (London), The Age, The Australian, The Toronto Star, The Irish Times and others.
This database also includes full text television and radio news transcripts from CBS News, CNN, CNN International, FOX News, National Public Radio (NPR), etc.