What are databases?
A database is any organized searchable collection of information that is made up of related records. In libraries, this usually means a searchable index of citations to articles, books, conference proceedings, and other types of published material.
Other resources
- Ensembl Genome BrowserThe Ensembl project produces genome databases for vertebrates and other eukaryotic species, and makes this information freely available online
- HGMD - Human Gene Mutation DatabaseAttempts to collate known (published) gene lesions responsible for human inherited disease. The public version of this database is freely available only to registered users from academic institutions/non-profit organisations.
- OBRC: Online Bioinformatics Resources CollectionA list of tools from the University of Pittsburgh Health Sciences Library.
- NCBI Genomic BiologyNCBI provides several genomic biology tools and resources, including organism-specific pages that include links to many web sites and databases relevant to that species.
- NCBI - National Center for Biotechnology InformationA collection of public databases for research in computational biology, genome data, and biomedical information.
Bioinformatics Databases
- PubMed Search more than 17 million bibliographic citations in life sciences.
Free or open source. - ACM Digital Library Collection of citations and full text from the Association for Computing Machinery journals.
- Web of Science (ISI) Citation and subject searching of research journals.
- Academic Search Complete Multi-disciplinary database.
- PubMed Central (PMC) Full text of more than 160 open access life sciences journals.
Free or open source. - BioMed Central Full text of open access peer-reviewed Science, Technology, Medicine journals.
Free or open source. - ScienceDirect Literature across all fields of science and social science.
- Oxford Journals Over 171 Oxford University Press journals online
- Biological Sciences A grouping of files in the biological sciences.
- Public Library of Science Full text of open access peer-reviewed life sciences journals.
Free or open source. - Medline (via PubMed) Index to medical literature.
Free or open source. - Springer Link Links to journals, articles and books in the sciences.
- Wiley Online Library Journals in the physical/life sciences and in the social sciences.
- IngentaConnect An index of academic and professional journals.
- Compendex Bibliographic database of technology and engineering research literature.
- IEEE Xplore IEEE peer-reviewed journals, transactions and magazines.
Subject Guide |
Links: Profile & Guides |
Finding a specific article
If you have a citation for a particular article that you'd like to read, check the catalog to see if we have a subscription to the journal where it was published.
Go to the advanced catalog search page and select "Journal Title" from the drop-down menu, or choose the Journals tab on the search box on the library home page. You will need to use the full journal title, not an abbreviation. Check the item record for a date range to see if we have online access or a print copy for the date your article was published.
If we do not own the issue you need, you can request a copy of the article through Interlibrary Loan. You will receive a copy of the article electronically; this may take a week or so.



Loading...
