Education/Psychology Liaison |
Links: Profile & Guides |
Curriculum Resources
How do I find...
Technology in the classroom
Web Resources
- Rubric Resources on the WebLinks to sites with assessment rubrics and sites that will help you create rubrics.
- Larry Ferlazzo's Websites of the Day...An unbelievable site that will keep you abreast of all things educational on the web.
- Blogs and Blogging on the Web
- Teachers' Domain: HomeTeachers' Domain is a free digital media service for educational use from public broadcasting and its partners. You’ll find thousands of media resources, support materials, and tools for classroom lessons, individualized learning programs, and teacher professional learning communities.
- Cyberbullying
- Podcasts on the Web
- eCommunities on the Web
- Multiliteracies (UNCC)
Wordle
Welcome ...
... to the research guide for the Charlotte Teacher Institute. My name, as you can see in the side panel, is Judy Walker and
I am the education/curriculum materials librarian. My sole purpose in
life is to help you succeed academically and complete your program
successfully.
This guide has been create to help you focus your research efforts. It is a work in progress for a number of reasons all of which revolve around the fact that there have been a large number of very recent changes to the library web page and several of the databases. I am working as quickly as I can to update all of the tutorials but it will take a little bit of time. I will probably be adding more information to this site as well.
Please, don't hesitate to contact me if you have any questions. Email is the best way to contact me since I don't have regular office hours. Most of the time I can answer your question via email but if it's more complicated we can set up a face-to-face meeting.
I look forward to working with you all.
Web Teaching Tools
- AnimotoAnimoto automatically produces beautifully orchestrated, completely uniquevideo pieces from photos, video clips and music. Fast, free and shockingly easy.
- Classroom 2.0A social network for those interested in Web 2.0 and Social Media in education.
- DeliciousVirtual bookmarking site.
- DiigoDiigo provides a browser add-on that can really improve your research productivity. Unlike most other web "highlighters" that merely clip, Diigo highlights and sticky notes are persistent in the sense that whenever you return to the original web page, you will see your highlights and sticky notes supe
- EdmodoProvides teachers and students with a free, secure and easy way to post classroom materials, share links and videos, and access homework, grades and school notices.
- ePalsePals is the leading provider of safe collaborative technology for schools to connect and learn in a protected, project-based learning network. With classrooms in 200 countries and territories, ePals makes it easy to connect learners locally, nationally or internationally.
- EmpressrAn online rich media presentation tool. Tell your story anyway you like. Add photos, music, video, and audio, and share it publicly or privately in an instant.
- Google For Educators
- GlogsterAn education collaborative online learning tool for teachers and students to express their creativity, knowledge, ideas and skills in the classroom.
- FlashcardsFlashcards for studying any subject. Matching game, crossword, word search puzzle, hangman, and word scramble also available.
- JingTake a picture or make a short video of what you see on your computer monitor. Share it instantly via web, email, IM, Twitter or your blog. Simple and free, Jing is the perfect way to enhance your fast-paced online conversations.
- PreziCreate astonishing presentations live and on the web.
- Teachers' Domain Teachers' Domain is a free digital media service for educational use from public broadcasting and its partners.
- StudyStack study systemFind flashcards to study or create your own flashcards. Study flashcards or use the other activities such as matching, crosswords, hangman, scrambled word, or bug chase. Study flashcards anytime and anywhere by printing your flashcards or by using them with applications on your cell phone, PDA, or iPod.
- TeacherTubeOnline videos created by teachers.
- Visual Understanding EnvironmentThe Visual Understanding Environment (VUE) is an Open Source project based at Tufts University. The VUE project is focused on creating flexible tools for managing and integrating digital resources in support of teaching, learning and research. VUE provides a flexible visual environment for structuring, presenting, and sharing digital information.
- VoiceThreadA VoiceThread is a collaborative, multimedia slide show that holds images, documents, and videos and allows people to navigate pages and leave comments in 5 ways - using voice (with a mic or telephone), text, audio file, or video (via a webcam).
- WikibooksWikibooks is a Wikimedia community for creating a free library of educational textbooks that anyone can edit.
- Wordle A tool for generating “word clouds” from text that you provide.
- PodBeamFree Podcast Hosting, Podcast Social Subscribing
- EdmodoSecure Social Learning Network for Teachers and Students
- SchoolTubeA Few Words About SchoolTube SchoolTube.com is the nation's largest K-12 moderated video sharing website that provides students and educators with a safe and FREE video sharing website that is exclusively endorsed by leading education associations.
- Voki for EducationVoki is a free service that allows you to create personalized speaking avatars and use them on your blog, profile, and in email messages.
Citation Tools
Chicago-Style Citation Quick Guide
Chicago Manual of Style (Purdue OWL)
The links below will take you to sites that will help you generate bibliographic citations. But make sure to check them for accuracy.
Primary Education Databases
- ERIC Database (via EBSCOhost) The primary education database via the EBSCOHost interface.
- Education Research Complete An online resource for education research.
Interdisciplinary Databases
These are databases that cover a wide variety of disciplines and will have articles on just about any of the course topics. For databases related to a specfic topic go to your specific topic/course page.
- Academic Search Complete Multi-disciplinary database.
- MasterFILE Complete Interdisciplinary and includes popular magazines, newspapers, and journals.
- Readers' Guide Retrospective: 1890-1982 (H.W. Wilson) Indexing for general interest, news and opinion magazines.
This is a list of magazines indexed by Readers' Guide that are in our Library. 20th Century Magazines - JSTOR Full text scholarly journals - social and general sciences, humanities.
- Project Muse Scholarly journals in the arts and humanities, social sciences and mathematics.
Student Databases
These are databases aim specifically at students in Kindergarten through 12th grade.
- MAS Complete Index to 515 general interest and current events publications.
- Middle Search Plus Provides full text from over 140 general reference, health & science magazines.
- NoveList K-8 Plus Locate books to read; learn more about books and authors
- Primary Search (Children's Magazines) Full text for more than 50 popular, elementary school magazines.
eBooks
Although all of these eBooks and audiobooks are in our catalog you can search these libraries directly via these links.
- MyiLibrary Full-text of more than 350 online books on a variety of topics.
Organizational Tools
Try these web based tools to help keep you organized and on tasks. Many are also available as apps for smartphones.




Loading...
