This is the "Find Information and Images" page of the "ARTH 2001/3001: MesoAmerican Art" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content


J. Murrey Atkins Library

Home
Contact Us
My Library Account

ARTH 2001/3001: MesoAmerican Art   Tags: art_course  

Last Updated: Aug 4, 2014 URL: http://guides.library.uncc.edu/arth_2001 Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts

Find Information and Images Print Page
  Search: 
 

Reference Resources

Start here to expand keywords, and to find basic information (about artists and movements) as well as images, photographs, and sketches

 

Books and the Catalog

The catalog provides resources with specific content and contextual information.  Use keywords here - with quotes to search for something specific.  Look at the entire record - not just the call number - for additional information (i.e. notes, subject headings, etc.).

If something is not available in our catalog, check WorldCat to see where it is available and to request it via InterLibrary Loan.

Here are a few books to get you started:

Databases

Find articles here.  Atkins Library subscribes to over 300 databases and indices.  Many of these are full text but not all.  

If you do not see full text (HTML or PDF) available, click the  icon within the record for additional information. 

Sample keyword searches: mesoamerica*, precolumbian, "ritual calendar", "manuscrito de chichicastenango", teotihuacan

  • Academic Search Complete  
      
    Multi-disciplinary database.
  • America: History and Life  
      
    References to journal articles, books, book reviews, and dissertations related to the history of the United States and Canada from prehistory to the present.
  • Art Abstracts (H.W. Wilson)  
      
    Indexing and abstracts for more than 450 international art publications.
  • ATLA Religion Database with ATLASerials  
      
    The American Theological Association's ATLA Religion Database. Covering such topics as Biblical studies, world religions, Church history and religious perspectives on social issues. Indexing period from 1949 to the present.
  • Google Scholar  
      
    Google Scholar provides a simple way to broadly search for scholarly literature.
  • Historical Abstracts  
      
    References to journal articles and articles in collections, citations to abstracts of dissertations, and citations to books on the history of the world (excluding the United States and Canada) from 1450 to the present.
  • JSTOR  
      
    Full text issues of scholarly journals in the social sciences, humanities, and general sciences, some journals have coverage back to the 1600s. Key word and natural language searching only.
  • MLA International Bibliography  
      
    The database consists of bibliographic records pertaining to literature, language, linguistics, and folklore.
  • Project Muse
    Scholarly journals and ebooks in the arts and humanities, social sciences and mathematics.

Subject Librarian, College of Arts and Architecture

Profile Image
Sara DeWaay
Contact Info
offices: 200E Storrs & 128E Atkins
phone: 704-687-0461
email: sdewaay@uncc.edu
Send Email

Images

ARTstor is a great place to find images, expand keywords, and explore artists.  To access ARTstor tutorial videos, visit the ARTstor YouTube channel by clicking here.  ARTstor also has subject guides for a variety of general subjects - with keyword suggestions, search tips, and collection contents.

CAMIO (Catalog of Art Museum Images Online)  Catalog of Art Museum Images Online is a growing online collection documenting works of art from around the world. Images, text and multimedia represent a broad range of works of art from prehistoric to contemporary times from the collections of prominent museums.

VADS (Visual Arts Data Service)  Online resource of freely available images in art and design (based in the UK). A alternative to ARTstor.

Wikimedia is an open source repository of images.

      

    University Links:

    Alerts

    Jobs

    Make a Gift

    Maps / Directions

    Text Only



    Accessibility





    The University of North Carolina at Charlotte

    9201 University City Blvd, Charlotte, NC 28223-0001 ~ 704-687-UNCC (8622)

    © 2010 UNC Charlotte | All Rights Reserved | Terms of Use | Policy Statements


    Follow UNC Charlotte

    Facebook
    Blogger
    Twitter
    Flickr
    YouTube

    Description

    Loading  Loading...

    Tip