American historical newspapers published in the 18th, 19th and 20th centuries.
or searching and browsing American newspapers published in three centuries, America’s Historical Newspapers is the most comprehensive online available. Continually expanding, it offers searchable digital facsimiles of thousands of titles from all 50 states. With eyewitness reporting, editorials, letters, advertisements, obituaries and much more, this acclaimed collection uniquely chronicles the evolution of American culture and daily life from 1690 to the recent past.
Full Text periodicals published between 1740-1940.
Over 1100 full text periodicals published between 1740 and 1940. Although the title of the database indicates it ends in 1900, it has many articles up to 1940. Three broad time periods are included: 1) 89 journals published between 1740 and 1800 from colonial status to independence, 2) more than 900 titles from the first 60 years of the nineteenth century, and 3) 118 periodicals published during the Civil War (1861-1865) and Reconstruction (1865-1877) eras. The database contains digitized images presenting the original typography, drawings, graphic elements, and article layouts exactly as they were originally published.
A collection of sources on Southern history, literature and culture from the colonial period through the first decades of the 20th century. Includes: First-Person Narratives of the American South; Library of Southern Literature; North American Slave Narratives; The Southern Homefront, 1861-1865; The Church in the Southern Black Community.
Platform for cross-searching a range of historical UK newspaper and periodical collections from Gale.
Collections include 19th century British Library Newspapers (Parts I and II); 19th Century UK Periodicals, Series 1: New Readerships; Times Digital Archive (1785-2006); and, Times Literary Supplement Historical Archive (1902-2007)
A 19th century illustrated newspaper from 1857-1912.
A 19th century illustrated newspaper, from 1857-1877. The first segment includes the Civil War Era: 1857-1865. The next two sections cover Reconstruction: 1866-1871 and 1872-1877. This primary resource includes news stories, illustrations, cartoons, editorials, biographies, literature and advertisements.
Full-text, full-image articles for newspapers dating back to the 19th century.
Coverage begins with the newspaper's first issue in 1851 and continues through 2009. It includes news, editorials, letters to the editor, obituaries, and birth and marriage announcements as well as photos and advertisements. Contents are cover-to-cover with full-page and article images in downloadable PDF.