Bibliographic records covering essential areas of public administration.
Public Administration Abstracts includes bibliographic records covering essential areas related to public administration, including public administration research, public administration theory, and other areas of key relevance to the discipline. Records are selected from many of the top titles within the discipline, including Public Administration Review, Public Administration Quarterly, and International Journal of Public Administration.
This resource covers issues in the public debate through selective coverage of a wide variety of international sources including journal articles, books, government documents, statistical directories, grey literature, research reports, conference papers, web content, and more.
PAIS Archive is included in this database and includes the content from printed volumes published 1915-1976.
Social issues, public policy analysis, and political topics.
The electronic version of the CQ Researcher dates back to 1991 for full-text articles. It is published 44 times per year and the individual copies are thematic in social issues, public policy analysis, and political topics. These 12,000 word reports include background information, chronologies, current analysis of the situation, tables and maps, and finally, pro and con statements made by individuals with differing viewpoints. There is an online index in PDF format for all articles published since 1991. The entire file is updated monthly, and it is a very good place to find term paper topics.
Search multiple government and political resources simultaneously or select an individual title to search. The resources available in this suite are: Congress and the Nation; Historic Documents Series; Political Handbook of the World; Politics in America; Supreme Court Yearbook; Vital Statistics on American Politics; Washington Information Directory.
Documents covering the most significant events of the year from 1972 forward.
In CQ Historic Documents Series Online Edition you can find the entire collection of the acclaimed Historic Documents print editions. These documents range from presidential speeches, international agreements, and Supreme Court decisions to U.S. governmental reports, scientific findings, and cultural discussions. Documents covering the most significant events of the year from 1972 to the present.
Reporting on the workings of the Congress, the Presidency, & Federal agencies. Changed from CQ Weekly to CQ Magazine in 2016.
Full-text articles range in date from 1990-approximately 1 and ½ years prior to whatever today’s date is on the calendar. You must consult the print CQ Weekly issues for those most recently published. This weekly publication is highly regarded in providing high quality, largely non-partisan reporting on all subjects related to the workings of the United States Congress, the President, and federal agencies. This publication gets behind the scene of the various Congressional committees, floor debates, voting, status of bills, and more.
Primary source for legal research. Also provides access to a wide range of news and business sources. Its coverage includes magazines, journals and law reviews, newspapers, news transcripts, state and federal laws and court rulings, and reference sources.
Google Scholar provides a simple way to broadly search for scholarly literature.
Google Scholar provides a simple way to broadly search for scholarly literature. From one place, you can search across many disciplines and sources: peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, abstracts and articles, from academic publishers, professional societies, preprint repositories, universities and other scholarly organizations.
Politics, international relations, government, public policy.
(Indexing: 1975+) Citations, abstracts and indexing of the international serials literature in political science and related fields, including international relations, law, and public administration/policy.
In-depth coverage and analysis of decisions from the nation's highest court
In-depth coverage (1989-1990 - current) and analysis of every decision from the nation's highest court since the 1989-1990 term. With The Supreme Court Yearbook Online Edition, users will find: year-end overviews of Supreme Court terms from 1989-2005; case summaries of every opinion written during each Supreme Court term; essays on the most significant cases from each year and the trends in each term; useful tables and figures on voting patterns and trends in constitutional law; and reference documents for understanding how the Supreme Court works.
Fulltext access to legal Federal and State cases, statutes & court rules, regulations, administrative decisions & guidance, plus secondary sources, briefs, proposed & enacted legislation and regulations.
Starting coverage of state cases varies by state, but for most states coverage extends back to the 1800s. Coverage for federal cases starts in 1789. New cases are online within days, sometimes within hours, of their release by the courts. Contains case law from all 50 states and the federal courts; statutes from all 50 states and federal statutes published in the United States Code Annotated; federal regulations published in the Federal Register and the Code of Federal Regulations; American Law Reports, a publication containing attorney-written articles that summarize and analyze case law on a particular legal issue; American Jurisprudence 2d, a comprehensive encyclopedia of state and federal law. Articles from law reviews.
Archive of social and political science data and datasets.
The Inter-university Consortium for Political and Social Research (ICPSR) provides access to a vast archive of social and political science data and datasets for research and instruction. It also offers training in quantitative methods to facilitate effective data use. UNCC faculty and students can create an account on campus. Reading and manipulation of this data may require statistical software such as SPSS or SAS.
This database continues the Statistical Abstract published annually by the Census Bureau from 1878 - 2012. In addition, it includes enhancements such as monthly updates of content and line-item access to tables.
SimplyMap is a web-based mapping application that lets users quickly create professional-quality thematic maps and reports using powerful demographic, business, and marketing data. Create a personal account, if you want save your work. Otherwise sign in as a Guest.
Part of the Census Bureau that displays population numbers from the 1990 Census, Census 2000, 2010 Census, and the latest Population Estimates data, as well as selected links to tables and maps showing population data.