Skip to main content Untitled Document


J. Murrey Atkins Library

Home
Contact Us
My Library Account

Bioinformatics Research Guide: Databases

Research assistance for the College of Computing and Informatics.

What are databases?

A database is any organized searchable collection of information that is made up of related records. In libraries, this usually means a searchable index of citations to articles, books, conference proceedings, and other types of published material.

Freely available databases

Bioinformatics Databases

Finding a specific article

If you have a citation for a particular article that you'd like to read, check the catalog to see if we have a subscription to the journal where it was published.

Go to the advanced catalog search page and select "Journal Title" from the drop-down menu, or choose the Journals tab on the search box on the library home page. You will need to use the full journal title, not an abbreviation. Check the item record for a date range to see if we have online access or a print copy for the date your article was published.

If we do not own the issue you need, you can request a copy of the article through Interlibrary Loan. You will receive a copy of the article electronically; this may take a week or so. 


University Links:

Alerts

Jobs

Make a Gift

Maps / Directions

Text Only



Accessibility




The University of North Carolina at Charlotte
9201 University City Blvd, Charlotte, NC 28223-0001 ~ 704-687-UNCC (8622)
© 2010 UNC Charlotte | All Rights Reserved | Terms of Use | Policy Statements


Follow UNC Charlotte
Facebook
Blogger
Twitter
Flickr
YouTube