Skip to main content Untitled Document


J. Murrey Atkins Library

Home
Contact Us
My Library Account

ARTH 2001/3001: MesoAmerican Art: Find Information and Images

Reference Resources

Start here to expand keywords, and to find basic information (about artists and movements) as well as images, photographs, and sketches

Writing Resources

Books and the Catalog

The catalog provides resources with specific content and contextual information.  Use keywords here - with quotes to search for something specific.  Look at the entire record - not just the call number - for additional information (i.e. notes, subject headings, etc.).

If something is not available in our catalog, check WorldCat to see where it is available and to request it via InterLibrary Loan.

Here are a few books to get you started:

Databases

Find articles here.  Atkins Library subscribes to over 300 databases and indices.  Many of these are full text but not all.  

If you do not see full text (HTML or PDF) available, click the  icon within the record for additional information. 

Sample keyword searches: mesoamerica*, precolumbian, "ritual calendar", "manuscrito de chichicastenango", teotihuacan

Subject Guide

Renee Moorefield
Contact:
704-687-0884

Images

ARTstor is a great place to find images, expand keywords, and explore artists.  To access ARTstor tutorial videos, visit the ARTstor YouTube channel by clicking here.  ARTstor also has subject guides for a variety of general subjects - with keyword suggestions, search tips, and collection contents.

CAMIO (Catalog of Art Museum Images Online)  Catalog of Art Museum Images Online is a growing online collection documenting works of art from around the world. Images, text and multimedia represent a broad range of works of art from prehistoric to contemporary times from the collections of prominent museums.

VADS (Visual Arts Data Service)  Online resource of freely available images in art and design (based in the UK). A alternative to ARTstor.

Wikimedia is an open source repository of images.


University Links:

Alerts

Jobs

Make a Gift

Maps / Directions

Text Only



Accessibility




The University of North Carolina at Charlotte
9201 University City Blvd, Charlotte, NC 28223-0001 ~ 704-687-UNCC (8622)
© 2010 UNC Charlotte | All Rights Reserved | Terms of Use | Policy Statements


Follow UNC Charlotte
Facebook
Blogger
Twitter
Flickr
YouTube