Skip to main content

Local Documents in Atkins Library: Home

Atkins Library has a collection of Charlotte City and Mecklenburg County documents, the bulk of which begins with the mid-1980s and continues to the present. Currently, very little is received in paper, but electronic records are added regularly.

Local Documents

Atkins Library has strong coverage of publications from such major departments as Charlotte Budget & Evaluation, Mecklenburg Budget & Resource Management, Charlotte Mecklenburg Planning Department, and Charlotte Mecklenburg  Schools, including budget reports and School Board meeting minutes for July 1990 - December 1998.  The library also has Charlotte City Council minutes and Mecklenburg County Commission minutes from  the mid-1980s forward.  Coverage for other city and county departments varies widely.  The collection also includes some items from counties surrounding Mecklenburg.

Local Documents Physical Location

The Local Documents in paper are located on the third floor of Atkins Library, directly to the right of the U. S. Federal documents.  These documents can be accessed by using the library catalog.

 

Additional places to find Local Documents:

Some local documents may also be found in Manuscript Collections, which are on the tenth floor of Atkins Library.  For example, Atkins Library has the Charlotte City Board of Education records, 1890-1960 and the Mecklenburg County Board of Education records, 1885-1960, as manuscript collections which are accessed on the tenth floor, in the Special Collections Reading Room.

Atkins Library also has the papers of some of the Charlotte Mayors
F. Marion Redd (1927-29)
Ben Douglas (1935-41)
H. H. Baxter (1943-49)
Victor Shaw (1949-53)|
Philip Van Every (1953-59)
Stanford R. Brookshire (1961-69)
John M. Belk (1969-1977)
Kenneth R. Harris (1977-79)
Eddie Knox (1979-83)
Harvey Gantt (1983-87)
Sue Myrick (1987-1991)
Richard Vinroot (1991-1994)
Pat McCrory (1995-2009)

 

Charlotte and Mecklenburg budgets

Budgets for the City of Charlotte, for which the title has changed periodically, have the call number:
Local Docs HJ9013 C35e

Budgets for Mecklenburg County, for which the title has changed periodically, have the call number:
Local Docs HJ9012 N8 M42
Local Docs HJ9012 N8 M422
Local Docs HJ9012 N8 M437

 

 

 

Comprehensive Planning Documents

The earliest comprehensive planning document which Atkins Library has for Charlotte is:

A Pattern for Charlotte
HT168 C34 R6 1944a

How shall we grow? a planning program for Mecklenburg Charlotte
Local Docs HT168 C53 (1953?)

Later comprehensive planning documents are as follows:

Next twenty years: a general plan for the development  of the Charlotte metropolitan area
Local Docs HT168 C3 (1960?)

Comprehensive plan 1995
Local Docs HT168 C34 C4 1977

2005 generalized land plan
Local  Docs HT394 C45 T96 1985

Planning for our future: 2015 Plan
Local  Docs HT168 C34 P52 1997

 

 

Charlotte Mecklenburg Schools

Paper copies of the Charlotte Mecklenburg Schools Board of Education minutes are located at Local Docs LB2831 C47.  They begin with 1990 and continue through 2009.  Beginning with 2010, the minutes will be archived electronically.  Currently they are available electronically, beginning with the 2001 school year at http://www.cms.k12.nc.us/boe/Pages/ArchiveMeetingsAndSchedules.aspx

Early Board of Education minutes for the City of Charlotte (1885-1960) and Mecklenburg County (1890-1960) are located in the manuscript collections.

Other CMS documents which may be of interest are:
Student Assignment Plan
Local Docs LC214.23 C43 C43

Parent Student Handbook
Local Docs LB3012.3 N8 C39

Code of Student Conduct
Local Docs LB3012.3 N8 C4

 

 

Subject Guide

Dawn Schmitz's picture
Dawn Schmitz
Contact:
1002 Atkins Library
704-687-1674
Website / Blog Page

Charlotte City Council Minutes

Charlotte City Council minutes in Atkins Library begin in mid-1984 and continue through mid-2010.  The call number is Local Docs JS694 C44 A55.  Beginning with 2010, they will not be collected in paper any longer, but will be archived electronically.  Currently they are available at the City-County website, http://charmeck.org/city/charlotte/CityClerk/Pages/CouncilMeetingsandDocuments.aspx

Mecklenburg County Commission Minutes

Mecklenburg County Board of County Commissioners minutes in Atkins Library begin in mid-1938 and continue through 2009.  The call number for the earlier years (1938-1983) is Rare JS451 N69 M45, switches to Local Docs JS451 n69 m45 in 1984.  Beginning with 2010, the minutes will be archived electronically.  Currently they are available at the city-county website, http://charmeck.org/mecklenburg/county/OpenMecklenburg/BOCC-Archives/Pages/default.aspx

<