Skip to main content

EndNote 101: Create a Bibliography

Everything you need to get started with EndNote.

Formatting

Formatting a Bibliography

By default, when you insert citations into your Word document, EndNote formats the citations in the formatting style that is currently in effect (this is called "instant formatting"). Instant formatting also automatically generates a bibliography as you insert citations. (Instant formatting can be turned off in CWYW preferences.)

In some cases you may wish to change the formatting style. Or (if instant formatting is not in effect) you may want to generate a new bibliography.

  1. Choose Bibliography from the EndNote submenu. The Format Bibliography dialog box appears:
  2. Choose the output style you would like to use from the dropdown menu. (If you don't see the output style you want, choose "Browse" for a comprehensive list.)
  3. Click OK.  EndNote will instantly format your citations and bibliography in the output style you chose

4.    If you change your mind, return to the Format Bibliography dialog box and choose a different style. The bibliography and all of your citations will instantly be reformatted to the new style.

5.    After you format your bibliography, if you add more citations you can easily format them by choosing Format Bibliography again.

6.    Note: You can also use the Format Bibliography dialog box to modify the bibliography layout (font, line spacing, etc.) by clicking the Layout tab.  Click the Instant Formatting tab to turn instant formatting on or off.

Output Styles

Changing the Current Output Style

Once you have chosen an output style using the Format Bibliography dialog box, that output style becomes the current output style, and is displayed on the toolbar at the top of the EndNote window.

To change the current output style, click on the current output style drop down box in the toolbar, and the list of output styles you have previously selected is displayed. Click on an item in the drop down box to make it the current output style

Editing Formatted Citations

Editing Formatted Citations

If you need to change (add to, modify, or delete) your formatted citations, use the Edit Citation(s) command.

  1. In your Microsoft Word document, click on the citation you wish to change.
  2. Choose Edit Citation(s) from the EndNote submenu ( ). The Edit Citations dialog box appears:
  1. Make sure the citation you want to change is selected, or click on another citation to select it.
  2. You can modify the citation, add additional citations to it, or delete it.

To modify the citation:

       Exclude the author or the year by clicking the "Exclude author" or "Exclude year" checkboxes.

       Add a prefix or suffix by typing text in the Prefix or Suffix boxes. The text will appear immediately before (prefix) or immediately after (suffix) the citation in your document.

       In the Pages field, add page numbers to appear with the citation.(Note: The Pages field works only for styles containing a Cited Pages code in the output style. Examples include MLA, Chicago, and Turabian).

To add additional citations:

       Click the Insert button. This will bring up the Find Citations dialog box.

       In the Find Citations dialog box, click on the citation you wish to add, and click Insert. The citation will be added to your existing citation.

To delete the citation:

       Click Remove, then click OK.

 

Note: Do not delete the citation in Word using the backspace or delete key. Special EndNote codes associated with the citation may not be erased and as a result your document file could become corrupted.

Odds and Ends

Working with Images

Inserting Images

Cite While You Write allows you to insert images contained in an EndNote library into your Microsoft Word documents from within Word. These are called figures, and they are accompanied by figure citations. Figure citations are numbered sequentially and appear in parentheses.

The image itself appears either right below the citation or at the end of the document (in the figures list), depending on the formatting style you are currently using.

When you insert figure citations, EndNote automatically creates a figure list at the end of the document.

To insert images into your Word document:

  1. Open the EndNote library you want to use. Then open your Word document.
  2. In your Word document, position the cursor where you want to insert the image (figure citation).
  3. Choose Insert Citation, then Find Figure from the EndNote submenu ( ). The Find Figures dialog box appears.
  4. In the Find: box, enter text to bring up matching references that contain figures.
  5. Click Insert to insert the figure and its caption into your Word document.

 Deleting Images

If you inserted an image as a figure and then later decide to delete it, do the following:

  1. Highlight the figure citation, including the parentheses.
  2. Press the Delete or Backspace key.
  3. Choose Update Citations and Bibliography from the EndNote submenu.

4.    Note: If you try to delete the picture without deleting the figure citation, it will reappear the next time a figure list is generated.

Removing Field Codes

Journal publishers request that you remove EndNote’s field codes before submitting your manuscript. EndNote uses field codes to insert additional data into your document, and it interferes with the publisher’s software. To remove field codes, click Convert Citations and Bibliography
in the Bibliography group of the EndNote submenu, and then select Convert to Plain Text.

Word will prompt you to save this version of your paper with another name. You should do this so that you can edit the original version with the field codes intact in the future.

<