Skip to main content

HIST 2161: African American History Survey Since 1865: Welcome

Undergraduate course in African American history from 1860. The course examines the experience of African Americans as they began to participate in society as a United States citizen.

Special Collections

Hours: Monday-Friday, 9am-5pm

Location: 10th Floor Atkins Library

Email: spec-coll@unccc.edu

Phone (704) 687-1170

Special Collections Contact

Dawn Schmitz
704-687-1674
Dawn.Schmitz
@uncc.edu
http://specialcollections.uncc.edu/

Reading Room

Hours: Monday-Friday, 9 am - 5 pm

Closed occasionally for classes.

 

Welcome

Atkins Logo

Research Guide for African American History Survey Since 1860

The J. Murrey Atkins Special Collections at the University of North Carolina at Charlotte is dedicated to supporting the teaching, research, and public service missions of the university by acquiring, organizing, preserving, and making available to a wide audience rare and unique materials in certain defined categories.

Among those resources are many that relate to the topics discussed in HIST 2161/AFRS 2161/AMST 2050-African American History Survey Since 1860.

This guide is not intended to be a complete finding aid to the collections. It serves as a preliminary research tool, providing a brief description of holdings.  More detailed descriptions of the sources listed below are available in Special Collections and through the Library's online catalog. The catalog contains bibliographic records for the majority of the manuscript collections held in Special Collections as well as books and other printed material available at UNC Charlotte. The catalog is accessible through the Internet at http://library.uncc.edu/search/advanced/. Finding aids for these sources are also available through Special Collections website at http://specialcollections.uncc.edu. Please note that some collections may not yet have finding aids available and that this site is a work in progress.

<