Skip to main content

OPTI 8110: Research tools

Reference Books

In print:

Encyclopedias

Encyclopedia of optical engineering
7th Floor TA 1509 E55 2003

The optics encylopedia: basic foundations and practical applications
7th floor QC351.2 .O64 2004

Handbooks

Springer handbook of atomic, molecular, and optical physics
7th Floor QC173 .S5985 2006

Springer handbook of lasers and optics
7th Floor QC688 .S67 2007

Online:

Searching the web

Getting started

To investigate a research topic, you will need to search through various types of literature. Reference books are a good place to get started--they are designed to cover a topic or field of study in-depth. Journal articles are a primary part of the scholarly literature in any field. We use article databases to search for articles on a specific topic. Conference proceedings are an excellent way of learning about very recent advances in a certain field. Many of our subject databases index conference proceedings along with journal articles.

Keywords are essential to your search process. Start by brainstorming some terms that you think describe your area or research well. As you search in different databases, make a note of subject headings or index terms used to organize article by topic. It's also helpful to scan titles and abstracts of relevant articles to look for phrases and words that the authors use when talking about your topic.

Databases

Atkins Library subscribes to over 300 databases and indices. Many of these are full text but not all. If an article is available in a full text format there will be a "PDF" or "HTML" link within the record.

If an article is not available full text through one database, we may be able to obtain it from another database or the library may have a print subscription. If this is so, there will be a green  icon within the record. Clicking here will take you to a page with additional information. It may offer a link to another database or to the Atkins Library catalog.

Subject Guide

Interlibrary Loan

When a book, article, or other item needed by a UNCC user is currently checked out, not owned by the library, or unavailable for some other reason, a patron may request that it be borrowed from another library through interlibrary loan. (Required textbooks are excluded from the ILL system.)

<