Skip to main content

ESCI 1101 - Earth Sciences/Geography: Research Tools and Strategies

Databases

What are databases?

Databases are used to search for articles printed in a range of publications. We subscribe to databases that index everything from scholarly journals to newspapers and popular magazines. 

All databases will include citation information for the articles they index, and most will have abstracts, or short summaries of what the article is about. Some will also include the full text of articles online. If a particular database doesn't have the full text available, you should see a link that says "Get It!". Click this link to see if the library gets that article from another source or in print, or to request a copy from another library.

Searching the catalog

The catalog is a searchable index of all the items the library owns. To find materials on your topic, try searching using a keyword from the list that you have created. When you find a book that looks relevant for your project, look at the item record to find out if the book is available and where it is located. You can also use the LC Subject Heading to find other books on the same topic: click on the subject heading in the book record to see a list of all similar headings and the number of books we have for each one.

If you are looking for a specific book, try a title search first, using the exact title without the words the, an, or a at the beginning. If you are looking for a specific article, you will need to search for the journal title in the catalog, and check to see if we own the issue your article was printed in. Searching by an article title or an article's author in our catalog will not work!

Interlibrary Loan

When a book, article, or other item needed by a UNCC user is currently checked out, not owned by the library, or unavailable for some other reason, a patron may request that it be borrowed from another library through interlibrary loan. (Required textbooks are excluded from the ILL system.)

Subject Guide

Reese Manceaux's picture
Reese Manceaux
Contact:
101E Atkins Library
ramancea@uncc.edu
704-687-1114
<