Skip to main content

CMET 6160 - Research Methods: Welcome

Research help for CMET 6160 – RESEARCH AND ANALYTICAL METHODS

Databases

Endnote

Searching for articles on your topic

To search for articles on your topic you will need to use our online databases. For this class, using the "Articles" tab on our home page will be quite useful--many construction management journals are indexed in non-engineering databases, and this search box allows you to search several places at once.

Compendex is a good place to start for engineering research--it is a comprehensive database with good coverage of the field. Try searching for one or two of your keywords together--Compendex is so large that it is easy to have over 10,000 results from a basic search.

When you have found an article that you'd like to read, use the green Get It button button to check our library's holdings for that article. A new page will open up. If it says "Full text available from" and a database name, click that link to get to an online version of the article. If it says that the article is available in the library, write down or print out the citation information, and then click the link to the catalog to get the call number for that journal. If the article is not available, there should be a link that takes you to the Interlibrary Loan request form.

Based on your topic, you will want to look at a variety of other resources as well. Try the links listed below to get started, or make an appointment with Alison for individual help.

Citation Searching

To expand your literature search further, use a citation index like Web of Science or Google Scholar. This will allow you to link quickly from a particular article to the research it cites as well as to subsequent articles which cite it as a reference. Web of Science also allows searching for related articles, or those which share similar references even if they do not link together directly.

Subject Guide

Research tutorials & guides

Books in our collection

<